n0nx0x2 build (problem solved, finished!)

Discuss x0x construction and related issues

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Grimoire

n0nx0x2 build (problem solved, finished!)

Post by Grimoire »

Hello all,

I'm new to synth building but have done my share of other diy projects like high end speakers and amps

Now I'm building nonxox2 with custom front panel (group buy)
Xoxbox kit bought from willzyx without cpu and front panel

I already soldered the saw, and square generator and filter which worked fine (soundcard probe tested). Voltages also measured fine.

The envelope tested 12V on D35 but couldn't measure the short peak at D36 (saw a small change on my multimeter, but doesnt have a hold function)

Then I soldered the VCA and tested it, but there was no note to be heard from the headphones probed on right VR8 pin-hole (components side of the print) The left hole produced a low frequency buzz.

Anyone have a clue what's wrong here?
(Tried to use the search function but couldnt find an answer)
Last edited by Grimoire on Sun Jun 22, 2014 1:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

antto

Re: n0nx0x2 build (gate problem?)

Post by antto »

the signal at D36 is a very short impulse, something like 1ms or so
it's purpose is to retrigger (charge) the envelopes
such things can't really be measured with a simple multimeter (unless it's a more advanced one)
so don't worry about it that much

for that specific test (D36) you could use the headphones technique or record with a computer (soundcard) and see if you got a short impulse... but beware: the signal there goes as high as 12V (for a short moment) so don't hook headphones/soundcard directly, but thru a resistor!
i probe with my soundcard usually with a 100k resistor in series
if you're probing with headphones - you should hear a very very short/sharp "pop"

now, for the other test - the VCA