Getting into CVS

Discuss mods, hacks, tweaks, etc.

Moderators: altitude, adafruit_support_bill, adafruit, phono, hamburgers

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
no-fi

Getting into CVS

Post by no-fi »

Right.

I just wasted a couple of hours trying to get tortoiseCVS setup on my computer and hooked into the x0xb0x project.

I've tried reading things, really. I'm even USING tortoise CVS because its what sourceforge seems to point at as being good to use.

but all I 've managed to do is waste an afternoon that I wanted to spend looking through x0xb0x firmware code.

I'm an electronic design engineer that just happens to already develop code using AVR-GCC for AVR projects, so if I could get involved here I might actually have something to contribute.

so, please. someone just tell me WHAT to enter into tortoiseCVS for an initial checkout, before I give up on the whole co-operative firmware development thing. It can't be this hard to just get a working link into a CVS repository. if it is, I don't want anything more to do with it.

subatomic

Post by subatomic »

On the CVS page on the sf.net project page, there's a CVS link, it will tell you the CVS commands to use to get the project anonymously. This is intended for the command line version of CVS, so you'll need to translate the paths for tortoise (or get the command line version). Make sure you're using the anonymous address, not the developer one. There are two command lines because one is the login line, tortoise probably does that one foryou, so focus on the second line:

Code: Select all

cvs -z3 -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/someproject co -P modulename
specifically:

cvs -z3 -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/x0xb0x co -P firmware
And in tortoise, I would try something like one of the following: (not tested, so I'm not sure, if there's a separate blank for "modulename" it wont be #3):

:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/x0xb0x
[email protected]:/cvsroot/x0xb0x