Memorial day is 05/25/2015 – Orders will ship out on May 26th. There will not be any deliveries or shipping on Monday. Any order placed after 11am ET on Friday May 22nd will not start to ship out until Tuesday May 26th.

using MB to power powered USB hub
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

using MB to power powered USB hub

by lowky on Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:31 am

I was wondering if the Minty Boost could be used to power a powered USB hub? My thought was to take a 4 port powered usb hub and use something like minty boost to provide the power instead of external power cord. maybe use a full size mint tin rather than the gum tin to contain everything. I am very very new to this sort of thing. just looking for a solution to eliminate a need for wall wart/powercord, especially when wanting to briefly powerup something like external drive that requires powered hub for quick download at wifi hotspot or that sort of thing. If you have a better idea that's appreciated too. I looked on google but didn't really see anything on powering the hub that way.
lowky

Re: using MB to power powered USB hub

by adafruit_support_bill on Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:17 pm

It can, as long as the total current draw of the devices you plan to connect (including the hub itself) doesn't exceed the capacity of the MintyBoost (~500mA). A standard USB port will supply up to 500mA, so this would not give you any more capacity than an unpowered hub.

adafruit_support_bill

by lowky on Fri Sep 21, 2012 1:14 pm

adafruit_support wrote:It can, as long as the total current draw of the devices you plan to connect (including the hub itself) doesn't exceed the capacity of the MintyBoost (~500mA). A standard USB port will supply up to 500mA, so this would not give you any more capacity than an unpowered hub.