MintyBoost DIY Upgrade

Ideas and questions about MintyBoost kits

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
doccatch

MintyBoost DIY Upgrade

Post by doccatch »

Have constructed several chargers using the MintyBoost with great success. I travel a lot (over 10M air miles now) and a DIYer when I can. And I confess that electrical is not my strong suit as my background is Mechanical/Civil Engineering. I travel internationally so space is a premium. Two questions.

Q1. Can you upgrade the Minty Boost to 4 AA batteries in parallel or will that overload the board? Looking for capacity.
Q2. I am considering marrying a Minty Boost with a small solar panel and Lithium batteries. I have the solar panel (designed for travel) and the batteries. Is there any wiring advice/suggestions/ schematic available?

kevinrs

Re: MintyBoost DIY Upgrade

Post by kevinrs »

look at http://learn.adafruit.com/minty-boost/batteries
you can use up to 3 alkaline batteries in series, you don't want to go over 5 volts on input. You could use 4 rechargables in series.
The problem with parallel is you get issues where any minor difference in strength results in one battery discharging into another, with overheating and battery leakage.
For increased capacity, you can go with C or D batteries. The calculations for this are on that page too.

For solar see http://learn.adafruit.com/usb-dc-and-so ... ly-charger what you are going to find though, if you have something like a power hungry phone, it's going to take a day or more of optimal sun hitting even a 5.6 watt panel, to get 1 charge worth of juice for your phone.

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If you are looking for capacity, NiMH (e.g. Eneloop) typically perform better than Alkaline. But Lithium cells will give you the best power density overall.