WB 2010 Full firmware
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

WB 2010 Full firmware

by Mictronics on Sat Aug 20, 2011 3:53 pm

Since I can not attach files any longer to the wiki the full operational firmware goes here.

As provided the firmware can store 5 programs.
One can increase the number of possible programs by modifing the MAX_PROGRAMS define in file main.h.

Each program needs 12 bytes of EEPROM. So you can calculate yourself how much can be stored.

There are also frequency limits for the VCO defined in main.h. These might be adjusted to your hardware.

When at least one program is stored, you have 2 seconds after power up to send a key press via serial terminal. Otherwise the last used program will be loaded.

When you enter a start frequency with 0 then the corresponding VCO will be turned OFF in this program.
So you can operated a single VCO or both together.

The blink code of the LED will tell you the program number actual running.

Post any firmware related comments here.
Attachments
WB2010_Hardware_Test.zip
Firmware for hardware test
Version 06/12/2010

Added: Press "Space" to reprint the menu on terminal.
(127.51 KiB) Downloaded 385 times
WB2010_Firmware.zip
Version 06/12/2011
Fixed bug in tuning which results in error "RF VCO range is too high!"
(131.86 KiB) Downloaded 432 times
Last edited by Mictronics on Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
/Michael
Mictronics
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:16 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by spacedoggy on Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:03 am

Thanks for the info/code mike, i loaded it onto mine and it seems to have froze out the chip. i power cycle the WB and get a couple of "#%&" type characters in the terminal. the 3.3V rail seems to be dead also and a restore of the test firmware is not working, I have some spare micro controllers, so will try change it out and check the 3.3V supply.

Not a whole lot of time these past few weeks for fun stuff, but hope to get cracking on this on the weekend.

SD.
spacedoggy
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:45 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by spacedoggy on Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:49 pm

ok, installed this on a new microcontroller. i kept the fuse config from test and installed the main.eep and main.hex
I hold down power for 2 seconds to power on, I get green light ok but i still get jibberish in the terminal on all bitrates.
i can however restore the test hex file which is running normally.
I'll keep playing about with it.
spacedoggy
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:45 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by annegrnd on Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:57 pm

hi
I have some trouble making work the wavebubble full firmware. I m using winavr studio and not using the given makefile.
I wanna get some precision concerning SUT_CKSEL and CKDIV8 fuses' vaules.
the files compiles but i m getting garbage on the hyperterm.
Thank you for help
annegrnd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:19 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by Mictronics on Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:21 am

/Michael
Mictronics
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:16 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by annegrnd on Sat Nov 26, 2011 10:44 am

HI
thanks i have some doubt for these values that's why i needed a confirmation.
Actually the problem is that i m able to run the firmware_v1.0 (RC1) (with holding on the switch S2 key :) )
but not able to run the firmware (i still have garbage on the hyperterm)
I tried to change the usart functions with those of the v1.0 version but still got nothing.
thank u for help
anne
annegrnd
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:19 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by Mictronics on Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:07 pm

New firmware version, see first post.
/Michael
Mictronics
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:16 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by viperspike on Thu May 24, 2012 11:17 pm

I've built two wavebubble 2010 Rev 2b (i need to replace IC1 on the second (WB#2) tomorrow to get it working) but am having a problem with the first
On the wavebubble (WB#1), but am having trouble loading the firmware. I have loaded the main.hex as posted above, but am unsure if I need to load any other files. When I connect to the WB using putty it returns weird characters such as:

(
xÀ&ã,Êë+c@WÀص£-êí«¤«¥«Õ­«Õ¬«Õ¬«Õå«å«å«å
@ Abï
í¨¬«Õå«¥«Õ­«Õ¬«å«å«¥«Õ­
(8@·,
º(+ïº(
9é(+¯*@Â@J¢, (8@
õµ ( `ص
(8Àª£n¡å 8$ã.Êë+c@Â@ý«-ꥩ¤«Õ­«å«å«¥«Õ­«¥«­«Õ¬
@ R`¯Ý
­¨¬«³(+¯²å«Õ¬«Õ­«Õå©å«¥
(Z÷,
8é(+ï*BRÂJ¢,

(
x(
õµ 9ª£&¡¥
(
8À$ª,Êë+c@Wµë-êí©¤«Õ­«Õå©å«å«¥«Õ­«Õ¬«å
×`Abï
íª¤«»(+ﲫ¥«Õ¬«å«¥«Õ­
(Z·,
8À (+ï*@Â@ÒC£,

(8@Û­
µ½
(

When I load the Firmware test I can use all of the functions and it displays normally, but with the real firmware its gibberish

Do I need to load other files besides the main.hex? if so in what order.

Thanks - Viperspike
User avatar
viperspike
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:30 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by lightningserpent on Wed May 30, 2012 8:45 pm

I usually get garbled text like that when the baud rate the chip is sending at and the terminal is expecting do not match.
lightningserpent
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 7:27 am

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by viperspike on Thu May 31, 2012 2:31 am

Right now I'm using putty and using baud rate of 19200. Is there another program I should be using or another baud rate? I'm quite new at this, so I used the wiki page and tried all of the baud rates listed. At different baud rates it either prints out more or less of the gibberish, but always gibberish. Should I choose a non-standard rate of 19000 or something? - Viperspike
User avatar
viperspike
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:30 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by evilroot on Thu May 31, 2012 3:51 am

Most of us old-schoolers use Hyperterm (well, maybe just me). PuTYY isn't really oriented towards serial communication, and for something like the Wavebubble you will need to go into advanced configuration options and disable all flow control. Perhaps making the Wavebubble more friendly with modern terminal software or even (god forbid) making a front-end program would be a good goal for anybody still working actively on the software end of things.
User avatar
evilroot
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:44 am

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by Mictronics on Thu May 31, 2012 6:04 am

I use Bray's Terminal for testing and programming the WB2010.

https://sites.google.com/site/terminalbpp/

You use obviously boards named WB2010 Rev 2b, be sure they are the same like my initial design.
/Michael
Mictronics
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:16 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by viperspike on Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:29 am

I got into the menu using a baud rate of 25000. Not sure why, but it works :)
I put a program in as follows:

High Band VCO 1700 ->2200 (724, 254)
Low Band VCO 850 -> 1000 (758, 98)

I can then tune the program

PLL for RF freq 1950MHz & prescaler 8: B=243 A=6 midpoint @ 764
bandwidth tuning...
PLL for RF freq 1700MHz & prescaler 8: B=212 A=4
254 done!
PLL for RF freq 900MHz & prescaler 8: B=112 A=4 midpoint @ 776
bandwidth tuning...
PLL for RF freq 800MHz & prescaler 8: B=100 A=0
236 done!

but during operation, it doesn't seem to do much unless I have the device within 3" of a "receiving source"

I have these antennas on the WB
VCO#1 = http://www.digikey.com/scripts/DkSearch ... 19&cur=USD
VCO#2 = http://www.digikey.com/product-search/e ... 31-1039-ND

Any ideas? Do I need to change out anything to better achieve this frequency range? - Thanks - Viperspike
User avatar
viperspike
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 6:30 pm

Re: WB 2010 Full firmware

by Mictronics on Mon Jun 04, 2012 7:38 am

The baud rate problem is obviously because of the internal RC oscillator. Since the baud rate depends directly on the RC oscillator a frequency offset there will shift the baud rate up or down.
If you are able to compile the code then you can change the oscillator calibration value in main function:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
/**
 * The main function.
 *
 * \return Zero
 *
 */
int main(void) {

  OSCCAL = 0xC0; // Calibrate internal RC oscillator

  // setup system tick counter

You can set the calibration value to zero, but there is still a risk that the baud rate is slightly different to 19200.
The RC oscillator can be individually calibrated but a Atmel STK500 or AVR-ISP is required.

---
It seems you are trying to jam cell phone ranges. A few things to consider:
The output power of the WB is spread over the tuned frequency range. A higher frequency range will lower the average power used.
Keep in mind that jamming with the WB works only in the way that the noise floor is raised. I guess the signal to noise ration for mobile communication within urban areas is way higher than what you can archive with the WB. Also the phones are using time multiplexed modulation and maybe frequency hopping which makes them more resistant against jamming.
/Michael
Mictronics
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:16 pm