R3 / R4 do what?

Breakout boards, sensors, other Adafruit kits, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
CodingBadly

R3 / R4 do what?

Post by CodingBadly »

In these circuits...

http://www.adafruit.com/products/2200#technical-details-anchor

...what is the purpose of R3 / R4.

All the LM4040 reference circuits I can find are sans the second resistor. For example...
http://www.ti.com/general/docs/datasheetdiagram.tsp?genericPartNumber=LM4040-N&diagramId=25110

I found one other circuit with the second resistor but have not found any explanation for it.

Franklin97355

Re: R3 / R4 do what?

Post by Franklin97355 »

They create a voltage divider so the diode does not have to do all the work. I'm not an engineer so this is just an opinion.

CodingBadly

Post by CodingBadly »

Thank you for the reply.

adafruit_support_mike

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

The 10k resistor give the LM4040 voltage regulator a consistent load.

The LM4040 belongs to the category of shunt regulators. An ideal shunt regulator looks like a current source with zero impedance at the specified voltage, sitting in parallel with the load.

Thing is, there's no such thing as a perfect shunt. Any real device has a certain amount of resistance, and the LM4040's datasheet lists a "dynamic reverse impedance" of 0.8 to 1.1 ohms. That resistance sits in parallel with whatever load you connect to the LM4040's output, so the resistance of the load has some effect on the regulated voltage.

The effect is small, but it does exist, and even small effects matter when you're talking about a precision voltage reference.

You generally use a precision voltage reference with an ADC, an op-amp buffer, or something else that has an input impedance of several megohms. The 10k load built onto the breakout is so much lower that it dominates any pulling effect the load has on the regulator.

CodingBadly

Post by CodingBadly »