Problem with SpokePOV

USB AVR Programmer and SPI interface. Adafruit's USBtinyISP.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jiggajinx13

Problem with SpokePOV

Post by jiggajinx13 »

So i recently purchased the Spoke POV with USB dongle "USBtinyISP" AVR. I followed the instructions on the website and built both the board and dongle.

I have NO idea how to install the driver or which driver to install. i am a student, experimenting with this product at the time.
When I try to press connect, it says "failed to open port" and the "failed to communicate with SpokePOV"
I have tried delaying the communications delay from 100 to 10,000 in increments of 500.
I have a PC, Windows 7 64-bit.
I have looked in the forums and no direct answer has been found.
When I plug in the USBtinyISP, the computer finds it, says it is an unknown device...then i try to install the correct driver and it says "Code 43: Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems"

Can I please get a step-by-step instruction or manual?

adafruit

Re: Problem with SpokePOV

Post by adafruit »

we have step by step instructions for every product on our site. But it sounds like there is something wrong with the usbtinyisp.
without connecting it to the spokepov. does the green LED light up and ask for a driver? did you -ever- install the driver?

jiggajinx13

Post by jiggajinx13 »

I have tried many times to install the driver, and been unsuccessful.
I have Windows 7, Vista, and XP machines.
When I plug in the USBTinyISP Dongle and the Serial Port Dongle, I get the same message "Unknown Hardware Found"
Once I find the actual piece of hardware, I attempt to update the driver, by browsing my computer, and locating the INF file supplied by your website here: http://www.ladyada.net/make/spokepov/download.html