ATMEGA168A-PU signature problem

USB AVR Programmer and SPI interface. Adafruit's USBtinyISP.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
loDag

ATMEGA168A-PU signature problem

Post by loDag »

I bought a microcontroller ATMEGA168A-PU with arduino bootloader, I'm trying to learn how to program microcontrollers with the book "Make: Avr Programming" written by Elliot Williams.
The book uses an ATmega168, but I found these on offer and thought were OK ...
As a programmer i use AVR-ISP500-TINY produced by Olimex , which I have used to program the ATtiny85.
With the ATMEGA168A-PU I have problems, give me the following error:

avrdude: initialization failed, rc = -1
avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions
avrdude: Device signature = 0x000000
avrdude: Yikes! Invalid device signature.
avrdude: Expected signature for ATMEGA168 is 1E 94 06

I have checked the contacts are correct with a multimeter and it seems all right.
It may be that avrdude does not support this microcontroller?

On the list there are only m168 and m168p

sorry for the english and thanks!

adafruit_support_rick

Re: ATMEGA168A-PU signature problem

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

loDag wrote:avrdude: initialization failed, rc = -1
This means that the programmer is not communicating with the target microcontroller. How are you connected to the micro? Do you have an external clock source (e.g. crystal)?

loDag

Post by loDag »

Thank you for replay,
No i don't have external clock, i use a development board made ​​by me, I checked that the contacts are well connected with 6-pin connector of the programmer with the multimeter, and it seems all right.
AVCC must be connected to VCC (I have to fix this thing) ? could this be the problem?
If I measure the voltage is about 3.8 V

adafruit_support_rick