LEDs that come with starter pack

For makers who have purchased an Adafruit Starter Pack, get help with the tutorials here!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
soulranger

LEDs that come with starter pack

Post by soulranger »

hello everyone, I am extremely new to arduino and would greatly appreciate a little bit of help. I recently purchased the arduino starter pack, which includes LEDs and resistors (among other things). I have learned how to determine the ohms of the resistors, however, I have no idea how to determine the watts and the ohms of the LEDs that came with this kit. my book (beginning arduino) explain how to determine which resistor to use for any given LED, but to do this I need to know the watts and the ohms of the LED. unfortunately, the kitt does not identify this information regarding the LEDs that it comes with. any help would be greatly appreciated!

Mike

adafruit_support_bill

Re: LEDs that come with starter pack

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The LEDs in the kit are all rated at 20 mA. See this tutorial for how to connect them.

soulranger

Post by soulranger »

Thanks for the reply! What would that be in decimal form? Does anyone know how many watts they are? Thanks again!

Mike

adafruit_support_bill

20 mA is 0.02 A. Small LEDs such as these are usually rated by mA instead of watts. Forward voltage will depend on color, Doing the math, (W=VA) depending on color they will usually be in the 0.04-0.09 watt range.

Unless you are trying to squeeze every last lumen fom these LEDs, it is best to err on the high side with your resistors. The LEDs will be slightly dimmer, but will have a much longer lifetime.

soulranger

Post by soulranger »

Thank you again for the reply. Another stupid question coming your way..... what does VA stand for in W EQUALS VA equation you listed?