ZUMO ROBOT

For makers who have purchased an Adafruit Starter Pack, get help with the tutorials here!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
eddiegurero91
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:09 am

ZUMO ROBOT

Post by eddiegurero91 »

hello, i have downloaded your zumo library. i tried to run the given block diagram (line following), however it doesn't give an expected result. the robot only moves shaking and doesn't moves forward.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88087
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

What kind of line are you trying to follow? It should be black on a white background and wide enough for the sensors to detect it.

User avatar
eddiegurero91
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:09 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by eddiegurero91 »

i use the black line. is it okay to reset the value gain of parameters, symmetrize motor, and change unit???

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88087
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

i use the black line.
How wide is the line?
is it okay to reset the value gain of parameters, symmetrize motor, and change unit???
Make sure that it is working with the example code first. That will confirm whether the robot is working properly. After that, you can change anything you want.

User avatar
eddiegurero91
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:09 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by eddiegurero91 »

i already run with the example code. For the line following example, it is not working..however, the block diagram for motor is working..my robot is broken or what??

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88087
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Please post a photograph of the robot and the line you are trying to follow.

User avatar
eddiegurero91
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:09 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by eddiegurero91 »

Untitled.gif
Untitled.gif (269.23 KiB) Viewed 1732 times
the wide of the line is 2 cm and as u can see, i'm running the robot through arduino's coding.
Attachments
Untitled1.gif
Untitled1.gif (267.3 KiB) Viewed 1732 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88087
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

It is possible that the grey background is too dark. Pololu does recommend black on a white background. There is a calibration program for the sensor array in the Zumo libraries. Have you run that?

https://codebender.cc/example/ZumoRefle ... alibration

User avatar
eddiegurero91
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:09 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by eddiegurero91 »

so, i have to run the given coding through arduino software or matlab?sorry, i kind of newbie about this.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88087
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

You would load it onto the Arduino using the Arduino IDE. Then open the serial monitor to see the output.

See the comment header on the calibration program file for details:
/*
This example is designed to be run an Arduino that is connected to a Zumo
Reflectance Sensor Array through a Zumo Shield.

The setup phase of this example calibrates the sensor for ten seconds and
turns on the pin 13 LED while calibration is going on. During this phase,
you should expose each reflectance sensor to the lightest and darkest
readings they will encounter. For example, if you are making a line
follower, you should slide the sensors across the line during the
calibration phase so that each sensor can get a reading of how dark the
line is and how light the ground is. Improper calibration will result in
poor readings.
If you want to skip the calibration phase, you can get the
raw sensor readings (pulse times from 0 to 2500 us) by calling
reflectance.read(sensorValues) instead of
reflectance.readLine(sensorValues).

The loop function reads the calibrated sensor values. It also uses the
values to estimate the position of a line, in case you are using the Zumo
for line following. It prints the sensor values to the serial monitor as
numbers from 0 (maximum reflectance) to 1000 (minimum reflectance) followed
by the estimated location of the line as a number from 0 to 5000. A line
position of 1000 means the line is directly under sensor 1, 2000 means
directly under sensor 2, etc. 0 means the line is directly under sensor 0
or was last seen by sensor 0 before being lost. 5000 means the line is
directly under sensor 5 or was last seen by sensor 5 before being lost.
*/

User avatar
eddiegurero91
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:09 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by eddiegurero91 »

finally i got the good result which means it can move by using matlab..thank u soo much admin...

User avatar
ao800ao800
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 4:45 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by ao800ao800 »

Do you have a Simulink model for the Maze Solver for the Zumo Robot? I am new to matlab/Simulink, and I find it easier to work within Simulink. To be more precise, I am trying to connect the push button start model with the line following modeling starting from the Simulink examples from the adafruit website. Finally, I am trying to use the reflective sensor array to recognize when it has crossed a finish line and stop. All this in Simulink if possible.

The Maze solver program from the Pololu.com website may have all these features I am looking for, but I don't quite know how to install the files in the Arduino library location?

What is your advice? Many thanks

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88087
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: ZUMO ROBOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

We are not Matlab users here. Pololu maintains all the Zumo libraries. That would be a better place to ask.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino Starter Pack”