Newbie with a Gemma kit: Where do I start?

For makers who have purchased an Adafruit Starter Pack, get help with the tutorials here!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
anevaude

Newbie with a Gemma kit: Where do I start?

Post by anevaude »

Hi Adafruit community,

I received a wonderful Gemma starter kit as a gift, but I have no idea where to start. I read the Introducing Gemma page, but it's difficult for me to understand when I don't even know what a "Pinout" is. I'm a complete newbie, but can't find a page that is specifically targeting complete newbies. So I'm a little embarrassed, especially because I'm a front end developer by trade. I'm excited to start the Adafruit adventure, but I just can't find where the path begins.

1. Is the Gemma kit for making 1 specific thing? Or do I have to find a thing to make and find its tutorial?
2. I'm slightly confused between Adafruit and Arduino and what each is. Should I be looking an Intro to Arduino materials?
3. How much of an expert should I be on inputs, voltages, soldering, wires, etc before I touch anything?

Thank you in advance. Honestly, feel free to explain things to me as if I were a five-year-old. Sometimes it's easier to put that out there.

Franklin97355

Re: Newbie with a Gemma kit: Where do I start?

Post by Franklin97355 »

1. Is the Gemma kit for making 1 specific thing? Or do I have to find a thing to make and find its tutorial?
2. I'm slightly confused between Adafruit and Arduino and what each is. Should I be looking an Intro to Arduino materials?
3. How much of an expert should I be on inputs, voltages, soldering, wires, etc before I touch anything?
1. The Gemma is a small (in size and capabilities) microprocessor that was designed for wearable projects but that is not to say it can't be used for other projects as well.