FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by rob drizzle on Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:22 pm

Hey guys,
I have a FTDI friend and just bought a Sparkfun Mega Pro 5v/16mhz. I tried to upload with the FTDI friend and when the IDE displays "Uploading" Is just hangs there... At first, I thought it was the Mega Pro not auto resetting because it WILL upload with a well timed reset button press. Sparkfun was nice enough to send a new board and guess what... The new board will not upload.

When I tried to upload with 1.0.1 and a verbose upload output, I get...

System wide configuration file is "C:\Program Files\arduino-1.0.1\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

Using Port : \\.\COM23
Using Programmer : stk500v2
Overriding Baud Rate : 115200
avrdude: Send: . [1b] . [01] . [00] . [01] . [0e] . [01] . [14]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: Send: . [1b] . [01] . [00] . [01] . [0e] . [01] . [14]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500v2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout
avrdude: Send: . [1b] . [01] . [00] . [01] . [0e] . [01] . [14]

It will continue like this for 5 minutes (at least)... I see the mega flashing it's D13 led just before the upload attempt and then I get one FTDI tx blink every 10 seconds or so...

What I can tell you....

The correct board is selected.
FTDI friend works with other 328 based boards
FTDI drivers tried were 2.8.24.0 & 2.8.14.0

What can be happening?
rob drizzle
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by rob drizzle on Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:34 pm

Oh yeah... I have tried it with v22, v1.0 and v1.0.1.
rob drizzle
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by rob drizzle on Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:31 pm

Welp... I actually tired using a Uno as a FTDI adapter and I get the same exact result. So back to square one.

I'm totally out of ideas guys...
rob drizzle
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by adafruit_support_bill on Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:56 am

I actually tired using a Uno as a FTDI adapter and I get the same exact result.

But you are able to upload to the UNO itself?

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 39217
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by rob drizzle on Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:01 pm

adafruit_support wrote:
I actually tired using a Uno as a FTDI adapter and I get the same exact result.

But you are able to upload to the UNO itself?


Yes, this is correct.
rob drizzle
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:14 pm

Re: FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by adafruit_support_bill on Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:23 pm

Sounds like the issue is with the Mega Pro then. Not sure what else to suggest since we don't stock these and don't have any experience with them.

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 39217
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: FTDI Friend Not working with Mega Pro

by rob drizzle on Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:12 am

The problem is with my home computer. I just installed the IDE and drivers on my work computer and both boards work fine...
rob drizzle
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 6:14 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.