Help creating horizontal bar graph

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
the_prawn

Help creating horizontal bar graph

Post by the_prawn »

Hi all, I'm extremely new to programming and am fumbling my way through so far.
I purchased a Uno, breadboard and 16x2 RGB negative backlight LCD, as well as a MPX4250AP pressure sensor.
My goal is to build a boost sensor/gauge for the turbo on my car.
So far, I'm doing OK. I've got a pot hooked up in place of the actual sensor for testing but everything seems to be going as it should - keep in mind I'm cutting and pasting and modifying bits of code and trying to get them to work together.
On my top line I have a reading of boost pressure in PSI, calibrated to my location/altitude, starting from the left. I have a dividing line "|" at position 10 and after that I have the peak/max boost value stored (resets when engine/power off).
I also have the display set so that it changes colour when a critical boost (eg overboost) pressure is reached.
I'm pretty happy with all that so far!

Now, my problem is I would like a horizontal bar graph on the second line coming from the left side, just as a visual representation and just because I have an empty second line.
I'm able to write characters to the second line but not much else. So far I just have it displaying "bar graph here".

I've downloaded and installed the LCDBarGraph library from arduino.cc but am now at a loss as to how I code it to display my graph. I need to get it to read the pressure values from "analogue 0" where the sensor will be installed, then I assume I can use a pot to adjust and calibrate my graph to the pressure range I want? I've been searching for a week or so but am struggling to find appropriate code that I can modify to suit my needs and my skill is not up to making it from scratch yet.