cc3000 stopped working?

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
doncoleman
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:54 am

cc3000 stopped working?

Post by doncoleman »

I'm having trouble with my cc3000 breakout board

I assembled the board tonight and tried to run buildtest, but it is just hanging on
if(!cc3000.begin()) { ...

With debug on I see "CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 000" repeating forever

I'm using the latest (BANNED) driver from https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_CC3000_Library

I've tried 2 different arduino uno boards.
serialmonitor.small.png
serialmonitor.small.png (177.61 KiB) Viewed 1100 times
wiring1.small.jpg
wiring1.small.jpg (183.27 KiB) Viewed 1100 times
wiring2.small.jpg
wiring2.small.jpg (197.51 KiB) Viewed 1100 times








Thanks!

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I've moved your post to a new topic - we were already helping two other guys in the other topic.

Can you try moving to a different breadboard location, and try some different jumper wires?

User avatar
doncoleman
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:54 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by doncoleman »

The good news is that it's working. The bad news is I'm not sure why it's working.

I rewired the cc3000 with a new breadboard and new wires.

With the debugger on, the code would hang part way through a log message (like it ran out of memory). The main difference was that it said "CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001" today and yesterday it was "CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 000"

Code: Select all

<Hello, CC3000!
RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 1249

Initialising the CC3000 ...
	CC3000: init_spi
	CC3000: Finished init_spi
init
start
	CC3000: SpiOpen	CC3000: WlanInterruptEnable.
	CC3000: Finished SpiOpen
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: WriteWlanPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001
	CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 0
After disabling debug in ~/Documents/Arduino/libraries/Adafruit_CC3000_Library/utility/debug.h, everything began to work fine.

I put the cc3000 back in the old breadboard with the old wires and it worked there too, so the board is working fine.

Any idea why it might be working now? Does ReadWlanInterruptPin 000 vs 001 mean anything?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I'm not exactly sure what's going on with ReadWlanInterruptPin. But it doesn't indicate an error condition - it's just a check that prevents a possible race-condition bug from occurring.

I think you had some flaky wiring, and I suspect that turning on debug messages creates other problems.

User avatar
mathmestres
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:46 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by mathmestres »

I'm getting the exact same error as Doncoleman.
I've already tried to disable the debug mode, but it just gets stuck in "Initialising the CC3000..."
I'm using a PCB with a bootloaded ATmega1284p with the exact same connections as it is needed for the arduino.

Do you guys have any idea of what else could be causing this issue?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Please post clear, detailed pictures of both sides of the CC3000, showing your soldering.

User avatar
mathmestres
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:46 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by mathmestres »

I am not sure if the pics will help, since it's small solder, but they follow attached.
https://imageshack.com/a/xc2z/1

What could I be possibly doing wrong? Is there a checklist of things I could try in order to troubleshoot this?
The strange thing was that this board was ok week ago and now I'm getting this message.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

That's not one of our boards. I have no way to troubleshoot it.

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by amahpour »

I have the same problem as well. I keep getting repetitive "CC3000: ReadWlanInterruptPin - 001" statements. When I turn off debugging it just says "Initialising the CC3000 ..."

What should I do to troubleshoot?

FYI, I made a custom board of the Due and put this chip, the W5100, and an SD port all on the same SPI (I stubbed the traces). I'm assuming I shouldn't be concerned about clock reflections considering Arduinos stub by stacking headers. Anything else that could be wrong with my setup? At this point I am unable to talk to ANY SPI devices.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Turn off debugging. It's not going to be helpful.

You've got a problem with your SPI connections.
Please post clear, detailed pictures of both sides of the module, showing your soldering and connections

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by amahpour »

Hi,

Here are a bunch of images. Some notes:
1. I have the W5100 in there as well but not stuffed
2. I accidentally routed my SPI_MOSI line to Pin 34 as well which you can see in the top level schematic. I had to do a pretty messed up haywire job (see pictures). I had the same results both before the rework and after
3. I'm attaching the .brd file which I renamed to .brd.txt for your reference. Just make sure to rename it before opening with Eagle

Looks like it will only let me upload 3 files at a time so I'll add more in the coming posts.
Attachments
Board - Front.JPG
Board - Front.JPG (882.64 KiB) Viewed 411 times
Board - CC3000.JPG
Board - CC3000.JPG (702.72 KiB) Viewed 411 times
Board - Back.JPG
Board - Back.JPG (684.47 KiB) Viewed 411 times

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by amahpour »

See attached
Attachments
Schematic - CC3000.PNG
Schematic - CC3000.PNG (73.7 KiB) Viewed 411 times
Top Level Schematic.PNG
Top Level Schematic.PNG (42.95 KiB) Viewed 411 times
Due_CC3000_ASCII.brd.txt
(442.82 KiB) Downloaded 207 times

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by amahpour »

Highlighted traces attached.
Attachments
SPCK.PNG
SPCK.PNG (82.73 KiB) Viewed 411 times
MOSI.PNG
MOSI.PNG (83.94 KiB) Viewed 411 times
MISO.PNG
MISO.PNG (87.08 KiB) Viewed 411 times

User avatar
amahpour
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:16 pm

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by amahpour »

More highlighted traces.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Attachments
VBAT_EN_3V.PNG
VBAT_EN_3V.PNG (84.63 KiB) Viewed 411 times
SPI_IRQ_3V.PNG
SPI_IRQ_3V.PNG (85.26 KiB) Viewed 411 times
SPI_CS_3V.PNG
SPI_CS_3V.PNG (80.25 KiB) Viewed 411 times

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: cc3000 stopped working?

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

You're going to need a scope to see what signals you're getting on the SPI lines. The symptoms you're seeing indicate that the driver isn't communicating with the CC3000. Could be your MOSI fix isn't right?

I thought you were using our HW. I really can't help you with a custom design.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Other Arduino products from Adafruit”