Neopixel Power Supply

For other supported Arduino products from Adafruit: Shields, accessories, etc.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
DrGonzo

Neopixel Power Supply

Post by DrGonzo »

I'm a bit new to the whole arduino/LED programming scene. I am wanting to make a table for my buddy and we need 6 meters of neopixel lights to go around the perimeter of the table. In the product description it says only one meter is 5v, 3.5 amps when at full white brightness. Am I correct to assume that if I have 6 meters of lights I will need a 5v, 25 amp power supply to run the whole strip correctly? So I would have my power supply to my LED's in addition to a power supply to my arduino.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Neopixel Power Supply

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

That's a correct maximum-case estimate.

In practice you can usually get away with using less current.

The human eye responds to light logarithmically, meaning we see ratios better than absolute light levels. "Twice as many photons" produce the same visible change, whether you're going from 10 photons to 20 or 1 million to 2 million (the visible difference in "twice as much light" is barely noticable BTW). Perceived brightness also depends on the ambient light levels, which is why car headlights are almost invisible during the day but can be blinding at night.

Color mixing also reduces the amount of time current flows through a given LED, so that has an effect on your working current level too.

I'd suggest starting with a single strip and playing around with it to get a feel for how it behaves. Work out the display patterns you like and measure the power consumption for the way you'll actually use the strip.