IR always on and HOT

Get help and show off your TV-B-Gone kit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Duckbites

IR always on and HOT

Post by Duckbites »

Good Morning

This is my first time with ANY sort of electronics. First time soldering, too. No comment is 'too basic' for me.

Parts list, check.
Instructions for V 1.2, matches the box.
Assembly through "Test the kit now by putting two good AA batteries into the holder" successful. Green light comes on automatically, blinks rhythmically. With a satisfied smile, I remove the batteries.

I finish the assembly. Batteries back in and my digital camera shows four (4) constant lights. I press the button. No change. In those few moments, the LED lights have gotten HOT. I pull the batteries.

I look at this forum. I have found these common questions which I will answer now.

Transistor Q5 is labeled 2907. Transistors Q1-4 are all labeled 2222A.

Resistor R5 has a red stripe, resistor R1 is orange. I know that is a mistake, but is that THE mistake?

Yes, I did attach the 6-pin ICSP header, long pins pointing UP. There is a "joined' solder (2 pins with one lump of solder) on the back of that pin.

So why are the lights hot enough to boil water?

Todd
Attachments
IMG_20130923_210535.jpg
IMG_20130923_210535.jpg (324.67 KiB) Viewed 1390 times
IMG_20130923_205947.jpg
IMG_20130923_205947.jpg (269.35 KiB) Viewed 1390 times

adafruit_support_bill

Re: IR always on and HOT

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The resistor mixup is probably not the cause of the full-on condition. But it should be fixed to protect the red led from burning out. The short between the ICSP header pins is more serious. You need to remove the excess solder.