Detect When Power Button Is Hit

Get help and show off your TV-B-Gone kit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Tanner8

Detect When Power Button Is Hit

Post by Tanner8 »

Well, I am trying to make it so that if you hit the power button it will stop scanning if it already is. I wrote the code out and stuff and I thought it would work but then I realized that everytime you hit the powerbutton it just starts the WHOLE program over. I don't really program C, I am a Java programmer so I may be wrong. But the way it looks it that each time I click the button the program starts again causing variables to go down the drain. I looked through the source and can't find anywhere that it knows if the button was clicked. I sort of want to have that code in the main code scanning loop to kick it out if needed. Such as

if(buttonIsPressed)
break;

Since I couldn't figure that out I was doing the work with a variable but like I said, it gets wiped on reclick.

Once again, this is like my 3rd time doing C so things are a little shaky. Thanks to Mitches superfluous comments I can understand what is going on easier.

caitsith2

Post by caitsith2 »

There is a way to define a variable, so that it doesn't go down the drain, on reset.

Code: Select all

static volatile uint8_t KeepTrack __attribute__ ((section (".noinit")));
This tells the C compiler, and the initialization code, that the ram that this variable resides in, is to be left at whatever value it is. (The chip does NOT reset the ram to 0 on code reset, its the init code, whether it be C's crt0 or an assembler routine that does that.)