Hack a MiniPOV3 for IR capture

Get help and show off your TV-B-Gone kit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
opossum
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:42 am

Post by opossum »

It will only work if the carrier frequency is 30 to 500 kHz and each burst is at least 200 uS duration.

It will not work with IrDA or similar systems.

User avatar
caitsith2
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by caitsith2 »

Building my own minipov + IR capture device. (Ordered a custom PCB for it, through Batchpcb.com.)

Image

Gerber + schematic/board files at http://www.BANNED.net/projects/minipov3/minipov3.zip


(True that I could have ordered a PCB or kit through adafruit, but I had other projects on the go as well, with PCB designs, and I figured I would just integrate your mods into a PCB, and give it a trial run. Also saved me the $6.50 digikey handling fee for orders less than $32.50, and the fact that the batchpcb $10 processing fee only applies per order, not per board. I don't mind waiting a bit longer for the boards.)

User avatar
opossum
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:42 am

Post by opossum »

Very nice.

A few tips...

If you use a QSE157, the supply voltage must be at least 4.0 Volts (3 x 1.5V battery, USB, etc...). The 3V Zeners must be replaced with 5.1V to allow operation at this higher voltage.

If you use an IR demod module, a bypass cap is required. They don't work well without one - sometimes they don't work at all. A 2.2 uF tantalum is usually enough, but sometimes a 100 nF ceramic in parallel with a 22 uF electrolytic is needed.

There really should be a 100 nF ceramic bypass cap no matter what the configuration. That's SOP for anything digital.

User avatar
caitsith2
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by caitsith2 »

That bypass cap should be easy enough to mount, where the POV sensor was supposed to go. As it stands, I plan on using an IR LED in this build, to complement my pic IRwidget, (building that one with QSE157).

(I should be receiving my IRwidget PCB board shortly, (hopefully)).

CJM
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 4:42 pm

Post by CJM »

Can you Paint an Layout-Plan please?


Edit:

I can Use this also?


http://www.compendiumarcana.com/irwidget/

User avatar
caitsith2
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by caitsith2 »

My minipov3 pcb arrived, and is assembled. I did not mount any of the IR pickup devices permanently, but rather, put in female header sockets, and chose to plug in the device desired, as I need them. I am currently running as minipov3, but am running off the ceramic oscillator, rather than the internal one, mainly, so I don't have to burn the fuses when I decide to use IR capture mode.

User avatar
dectomax
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:44 am

Can I use an ATTiny85??

Post by dectomax »

Hi,

I've been wanting to capture some I.R. Codes for my Tv B Gone. I oredered 10 Tiny85's because of a price break in the order, to build the Tv B Gone. It works great. :)

That leaves me with 9 lying around. I'm not very experienced with AVR's and was wondering if it would it be easy to port the I.R capture source code to a Tiny85 as that's all I have at the moment.

Also, what would the schematic be as I haven't built a MiniPOV to hack. I'm thinking about building this from the ground up.

Thanks.

magician13134
 
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:17 am

Post by magician13134 »

Can we see a picture of your final? I'd like to see the quality of a batchpcb board, I'm thinking of ordering some from them.

An IR capture device shouldn't be too hard to write for the 85. I, too, would like to see an 'IR Widget'-style device based on the 85.

jasonx
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:41 pm

Post by jasonx »

magician13134 wrote:I, too, would like to see an 'IR Widget'-style device based on the 85.
Me to I have a few of these spare

Probedude
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 3:16 am

Post by Probedude »

Ditto here.

User avatar
caitsith2
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:21 pm

Post by caitsith2 »

magician13134 wrote:I'd like to see the quality of a batchpcb board, I'm thinking of ordering some from them.
Don't have a picture of the minipov3 at the moment, I do however have pictures of 2 other boards that I had made at batchpcb, at the same time as the minipov3 built.

For PPP Token
Image
Image

For http://ledkit.biz Clock PCB
Image


Note, I had originally ordered 1x minipov3 modified PCB board, 2x PPP token boards, and 3x LEDkit.biz clock boards. I ended up with 1x minipov3, 3x PPP token boards, and 8x LEDkit.biz clock boards. (Must have been filler for their panel, to get the order out on time.)

User avatar
dectomax
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:44 am

IR Scope Codes

Post by dectomax »

Well,

I've built my I.R. widget using a PIC 12F509 I had lying about. It seems to work fine. I now want to add some new codes to my TV B Gone so that I can switch off my T.V, Satellite Box and AV amp all at once.

My problem is adding these codes. I.R. scope throws out a file called tvbg.c which looks like this.

Code: Select all

const struct powercode xCode PROGMEM = {
	freq_to_timerval(35851),
	{
		{ 266,	89 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 44,	88 },
		{ 89,	46 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 91,	44 },
		{ 43,	89 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 88,	44 },
		{ 46,	89 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	12319 },
		{ 271,	89 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 88,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 88,	45 },
		{ 44,	88 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 88,	45 },
		{ 45,	89 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	12319 },
		{ 268,	89 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 43,	89 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 91,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 90,	43 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 90,	43 },
		{ 47,	88 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	12319 },
		{ 270,	88 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 44,	88 },
		{ 46,	89 },
		{ 88,	45 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 89,	43 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 89,	46 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	12318 },
		{ 269,	89 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 47,	43 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 45,	89 },
		{ 90,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 46,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 45,	45 },
		{ 88,	44 },
		{ 46,	89 },
		{ 44,	43 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	44 },
		{ 43,	45 },
		{ 88,	46 },
		{ 44,	89 },
		{ 44,	46 },
		{ 44,	0 }
	}
};
I'm using the 'TV B Gone 1.1 Simple' code. I've tried adding the tvbg.c file to the project and rebuilding in AVR Studio but I get an error

tvbg.c:1: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '__attribute__' before 'PROGMEM'

I've looked at the Worldcode.c file and the structure seems different. Are these codes compressed ones?

Code: Select all

const struct IrCode code_na000Code PROGMEM = {
	freq_to_timerval(38461),
	code_na000Times,
	{
		0x48,
		0x41,
		0x04,
		0x82,
		0x49,
		0x90,
		0x82,
		0x09,
		0x04,
		0x94,
	}
};
I've looked at an earilier 'codes' file and it is the same as the output from I.R. scope.

Anybody got any idea how to get the output from I.R. Scope and add it to the either the latest 1.1 version EU_codes or World codes?

Thanks.

CJM
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 4:42 pm

Post by CJM »

Hello,

I've finally got me a mini Arduino increase and would like this circuit (LED) in this building.

Can someone please make a plan and the code?

And advise a German language book (Layouts, Arduino, Coding, ...) ?

User avatar
hypersonic500
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:29 pm

Re: Hack a MiniPOV3 for IR capture

Post by hypersonic500 »

hey oPossum is there any way to use the capture program with an Arduino? if so please show how. :)

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “TV-B-Gone Kit”