Adafruit DC & Stepper Motor HAT for Raspberry Pi

For Adafruit customers who seek help with microcontrollers

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
pbgorman

Adafruit DC & Stepper Motor HAT for Raspberry Pi

Post by pbgorman »

So I just ordered my first Raspberry Pi with the intent on building a CNC router. My question is regarding the Adafruit DC & Stepper Motor HAT for Raspberry Pi. Will this work with GRBL or LinuxCNC or will I have to code through Python? I'm a total noob with this so forgive my ignorance if this is a dumb question. I am a professional CAD guy and I'm wanting to design and create stuff. Nothing too serious just yet as I get my feet wet with this project.

Thanks!
P

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Adafruit DC & Stepper Motor HAT for Raspberry Pi

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

The Motor Hat doesn't support any of the NC dialects, but more importantly, it can only handle about 1.6A per channel. That will limit you to a light duty CNC rig unless you use the Hat's output to control external H-bridges.

pbgorman

Post by pbgorman »

adafruit_support_mike wrote:The Motor Hat doesn't support any of the NC dialects, but more importantly, it can only handle about 1.6A per channel. That will limit you to a light duty CNC rig unless you use the Hat's output to control external H-bridges.
So then my best bet would probably be an Arduino and a stepper shield then?

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

For CNC applications I'd recommend an Arduino and a gShield. https://www.adafruit.com/products/1750
The gShield is designed for CNC applications running the tinyG G-code interpreter on Arduinos. It can handle larger motors than the stepper shield and has current limiting.

https://learn.adafruit.com/all-about-st ... he-stepper

pbgorman

Post by pbgorman »

Excellent Bill! I have read that and am absorbing all I can about them.

Thanks so much!

rafoid