how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
ezeeetm
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:25 pm

how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by ezeeetm »

after I get a finished circuit and code working on the arduino, what are the steps to migrate this to say, a perfboard with just the bare minimum stuff needed to run?

Like, I don't need the USB and many of the I/O pins...my circuit is real simple. I know I'll need to get a socket for the atmel chip...but what else is the "bare minimum" needed for stuff to work on a non-arduino board?

I'm sure this question has been asked before, so please feel free to link me to whatever and I'll read.

Oh, and I'm not looking to etch my own stuff...my circuit is real simple and can be done through hole on perfboard.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

A good place to start would be the arduino reference schematic (UNO is here). You might also want to have a look at Atmel app notes, such as this one.

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If you search for "minimal arduino" you will find many ways to build a circuit with just the bare essentials.

For the barest of bare minimum, there is this circuit: http://www.instructables.com/id/The-RRR ... /?ALLSTEPS

User avatar
floresta
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:27 am

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by floresta »

I would recommend that you look at what is on the Adafruit 'Boarduino' (http://www.adafruit.com/products/72) or on the similar but even barer Modern Device 'Really Bare Bones Board' (http://shop.moderndevice.com/products/rbbb-pcb). The RBBB does not have an ICSP header and the board is designed so that you can cut away the power supply. In your perfboard version you could leave out the LED and its resistor, the serial programming header and the reset switch as well. Don't leave out the bypass capacitor on the power lead or the pullup resistor on the reset line.

Don

User avatar
ezeeetm
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by ezeeetm »

adafruit_support wrote:If you search for "minimal arduino" you will find many ways to build a circuit with just the bare essentials.

For the barest of bare minimum, there is this circuit: http://www.instructables.com/id/The-RRR ... /?ALLSTEPS
this is great info...this and the "really bare bones board" are pretty close to what I'm hoping for.

Regarding the RRRRRRRbA instructables link...can you REALLY connect 5V directly to the chip with no voltage regulator...just direct connect?

Also, what's the lowest voltage required to run the atmel chip?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

ezeeetm wrote:Also, what's the lowest voltage required to run the atmel chip?
You really should be referring to the Atmel atmega328 datasheet for these sorts of questions.
http://www.atmel.com/Images/doc8271.pdf

User avatar
ezeeetm
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by ezeeetm »

driverblock wrote:
ezeeetm wrote:Also, what's the lowest voltage required to run the atmel chip?
You really should be referring to the Atmel atmega328 datasheet for these sorts of questions.
http://www.atmel.com/Images/doc8271.pdf
I did look at the datasheet. It's more of a data tome @ 555 pages.

I found a max (Maximum Operating Voltage ............................................ 6.0V)...but no minimum listed. I used full text search term "minimum operating voltage" "operating voltage" and even took a stab at "minimum", but got too many results.

I'm sure someone will come along who knows the answer, on this arduino forum.

also found this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30rPt802n1k
How-To: Shrinkify Your Arduino Projects

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Page 308:
Table 29-9. ATmega328P Dc characteristics - TA = -40C to 85C, VCC = 1.8V to 5.5V (unless otherwise noted)
Page 2:
Operating Voltage: 1.8 - 5.5V

User avatar
floresta
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:27 am

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by floresta »

... can you REALLY connect 5V directly to the chip with no voltage regulator...just direct connect?
Yes, if it is REALLY 5V.

Don't forget that the maximum allowable oscillator frequency decreases as the voltage decreases - thus precluding development on a 'standard' Arduino.

Don

User avatar
kewakl
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:49 pm

Re: how to go from "arduino" to "circuit"

Post by kewakl »

Like, I don't need the USB and many of the I/O pins...my circuit is real simple
So, you probably do not require a 328P.
I have put the arduino bootloader on ATtiny13 and ATtiny45 (8-pin).
(ignored the PAGEL and BS2 error messages)
Some have put it on ATtiny2313 (20-pin) I think I have done so,too, but I forget!

Make sure (if you use a smaller chip) that the chip has enough FLASH for your simple task (tiny13 has 1K, tiny45 has 4K, tiny2313 has 2K)

floresta provided you with 3 important points:
1. Power supply decoupling. (reply 3)
2. Pull /RST line HIGH through resistor. (reply 3)
3. MAX clock freq decreases with lower supply voltage. (reply 8 )

Items 1 and 3 have caused me some grief

[Edit fix for reference to reply 8, showing as emoticon)

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”