New Uno Ethernet blink program trouble

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
wfanning

New Uno Ethernet blink program trouble

Post by wfanning »

Hi,

I just received my UNO Ethernet R3. I uploaded Blink from Examples/Basics and the LED sometimes stays lit for many seconds, sometime off for many seconds sometims seems to blink but pulses strong then fades out. This is the standard Blink program, should blink on and off with 1000ms timing. It does this powered by 9v wall wart or FTDI programming cable.

I have programmed quite a bit with a Nano so I am not a newbie.

I am using Arduino programming IDE v1.0.1 and the FTDI cable TTL-232R-3V3.

The Arduino website says I need to "Upgrade the Arduino Ethernet bootloader to the latest version". Is this possible on a freshly delivered board?

wfanning

Re: New Uno Ethernet blink program trouble

Post by wfanning »

Update -

The sketch Examples/Basics DigitalReadSerial seems to work just fine. I wonder if there isn't a problem with the LED on this board. Any one else with an UNO Ethernet R3 who can confirm or not this problem?

Thank you.

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I've never heard of that symptom before. :? If you modify your 'DigitalReadSerial" loop like this, does the led follow the button state?

Code: Select all

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {
  // read the input pin:
  int buttonState = digitalRead(pushButton);
  digitalWrite(13, buttonState);
  // print out the state of the button:
  Serial.println(buttonState);
  delay(1);        // delay in between reads for stability
}
The Arduino website says I need to "Upgrade the Arduino Ethernet bootloader to the latest version". Is this possible on a freshly delivered board?