Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
perecastor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:19 am

Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by perecastor »

Hi everyone!

Yesterday a friend gave me an arduino mini but i don't have ftdi cable.
So can i use my arduino uno r3 to load some code in my arduino mini ?

Thanks for reading and sorry for my bad english, i'm french :/

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

If it is the 5v version of the Mini it should be possible. Load an empty sketch on the Uno (one that does no serial I/O), then connect:
5v->5v,
Gnd->Gnd
Tx->Tx,
Rx->Rx

You will have to experiment with pressing the reset button just before the upload starts. It may take several tries before you get the right timing.

perecastor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:19 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by perecastor »

The mini is a R5 revision. This revision is the 5v version?

If it's wright, tell me if i'm wrong:
1- plug usb on my arduino uno without wire
2- load blank sketch on it
3- unplug usb
4- wire arduino uno <-> arduino mini
5-plug usb on arduino uno
6-load skecth on arduino and press reset on arduino uno when i'm trying to uplad on the mini

Is this is ok ?

Thanks a lot for your answer

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I don't know much about the various mini models. We do not carry them in our store.

Actually, my first advice was wrong. The blank sketch approach won't work for loading programs, since the Uno will reset and run it's own bootloader when the upload starts. You will need to remove the Atmega chip.
This should do it:
  • Remove the Atmega 328 chip from the Uno.
    Wire the Uno to the mini
    Connect Uno to computer via USB.
    Compile/Upload your sketch to the mini - pressing the reset button when the compile completes and the upload starts

perecastor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:19 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by perecastor »

:? i can't remove my Atmega on the uno board ( it's a smd version...) so, i have to buy a ftdi cable .

perecastor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:19 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by perecastor »

Is there another way to program my arduino mini without ftdi cable ?

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Not that I know of :(

perecastor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:19 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by perecastor »

Thanks a lot for taking time to answer me ;)
ftdi cable added to the to buy list ^^

perecastor
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:19 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by perecastor »

Another question, i have an pickit2 programmer and a demo board with a PIC16F877A.
Can i use one of them to make a ftdi cable? May be the programmer/debugger

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 88093
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Can i program an Arduino mini with an arduino uno R3?

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I'm not a PIC expert. If there is a USB stack for it, it might be possible.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”