How do I control a stepper motor with a 0-10Vdc input?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
darby

How do I control a stepper motor with a 0-10Vdc input?

Post by darby »

I am new to the arduino and have been looking through the forums for information on how to control a stepper motor with a 0-10Vdc input. All I can find is control by a potentiometer.

I am in a bit of a time pinch to develop a device for a project that will control a stepper valve with a 0-10Vdc input signal. The stepper motor drives the valve in one direction from 0 - 100% open and then I will need to drive it 100 - 0% by reversing the direction. In other words, if the input is 5vdc, it needs to drive the motor in the open direction for half of the time it takes to drive the valve 100% open which will be 50% open. If the input changes to 2.5vdc, it will then need to reverse direction and close for a quarter of the time it takes for full travel and stop. this should be the 25% open position of the valve. This is basically taking an analog input and converting it to an incremental position of a stepper valve.

After thinking about this, I understand that it is going to take some time to develop the timing to get this accurate. I just need a place to start.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction of a program or set of programs to start working with?

I am jumping in head first, and I need to get it done pretty quickly if possible, so any help is appreciated.

I have an Arduino Uno and purchased the Adafruit Motor/Stepper/Servo Shield for Arduino kit - v1.2. It looked to me from the specifications that it would be able to control the following.

Stepper motor type
Bi-polar - permanent magnet
Step mode
2 phase full step
Phase resistance
52 Ω ±10%
Step angle
7.5° (motor),
0.9° (lead screw),
Gearing ration 8.5:1. (38/13)2:1
Nominal voltage