Manipulating welder output with Arduino
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by joshuabardwell on Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:15 am

Thought y'all might like a peek at what I've been working so hard at for the last week or so (and posting questions about).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjjPOw8A3uo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wYDxnVgQNA
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by adafruit_support_mike on Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:37 am

Very cool! I think you got featured on the blog. ;-)
When you void a product warranty, you give up your right to sue the manufacturer if something goes wrong and accept full responsibility for whatever happens next. And then you truly own the product.
User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 10082
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by joshuabardwell on Wed Aug 28, 2013 12:44 pm

Link?
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by adafruit_support_bill on Wed Aug 28, 2013 12:58 pm

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 30810
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by joshuabardwell on Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:15 pm

joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by joshuabardwell on Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:15 pm

New update.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UqpZE7ZVeo

The bug in 4T operation that I reference was complicated by the fact that I was using an interrupt handler to detect changes in the torch switch position. Because the bug was occurring in the interrupt handler, I couldn't use Serial.print() to debug it. I spent this morning re-writing the code not to use interrupts, which actually turned out not to be as big a deal as I thought it was, because there were only a few cases where an actual "interrupt" was needed, and the rest of the code could be written as a function call in loop(). In re-writing the code, I found the bug. The issue was that during the "upSlope" behavior, a change in state from not-pressed to pressed should interrupt the upSlope and change state to notWelding. In the notWelding state, a button press initiates pre-Upslope. So pressing the button to interrupt upSlope would basically put us right back into pre-Upslope, because as soon as the code arrived back at notWelding, it noticed that the button was pressed and (correctly) moved into pre-Upslope. As usual, the bug was the code doing exactly what it was told... I re-wrote the code to clear a flag once the button was released after an interrupt, and to only go back into a new welding action after the flag was cleared.
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

by joshuabardwell on Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:33 am

This project has reached "alpha" status. All major features have been implemented and all major bugs (that I know of) have been worked out. The attached video is a brief background, and a full demonstration of all features.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhBIrnBH ... e=youtu.be
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm