Arduino Micro takes several resets to boot properly

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jeffburg

Arduino Micro takes several resets to boot properly

Post by jeffburg »

Hey Everyone,

I have a small amount of experience with Microcontrollers (PIC Microcontrollers a few years ago and I also have a Spark Core now). I have no direct experience with Arduino. But I saw the project on here about connecting a Non-ADB NeXT Keyboard (https://learn.adafruit.com/usb-next-key ... o?view=all) to a computer via Arduino Micro acting as a USB HID. The project seemed easy enough and I have several of those keyboards laying around. I ordered the parts, put it together, flashed the arduino and everything works pretty good. You can see the vine video here (https://vine.co/v/M1P920d6lBd).

That being said, I'm having one issue. It takes several resets for it to boot up properly after plugging it into the computer.

When I plug in the USB into the computer, the blue light on the arduino micro turns on but the yellow light on the other side does not pulse at all.

Then when I hit the reset button, the yellow light pulses but about 3 in 4 times it doesn't boot properly and does not recognize commands from the keyboard.

Sometimes when it boots either the TX or RX lights get stuck on and then the keyboard keys do not work on the Mac. But sometimes neither of the TX or RX lights get stuck on and it still doesn't work.

Usually after resetting for the 4th time it boots up and works normally and then the TX and RX lights light up appropriately when keyboard events are sent or received.

I am using the code straight off the github project from that tutorial (https://github.com/adafruit/USB-NeXT-Keyboard). Can anyone see any issues in the code that would cause this? Anything I can do to debug it?

Thanks!

-Jeff

jeffburg