CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
jimwims
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:17 pm

CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by jimwims »

I have a very early Adafruit CC3000 shield for Arduino. It had the original firmware and I am now trying to upgrade it following the Adafruit tutorial. The shield is on an UNO; I am using version 1.0.6 of the IDE. I have changed the chip select in on my shield from pin 10 to 9 to avoid a conflict with another shield. I have changed the chip select define at line 46 in driverpatch_1_14 from 10 to 9. Should the same change be made at lines 164 and 168?

I ask this because after having done the upgrade the latest versions of buildtest and WebClient run successfully only occasionally. Most often I get error messages.

Tnx

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

I would comment out line 168, I think. Probably doesn't matter, though.

User avatar
jimwims
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:17 pm

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by jimwims »

Thanks. I gave that a try, but it didn't help. Any other thoughts about why WebClient and buildtest might not be working with 1.14?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Can you post the serial monitor output from buildtest when you have an error?

Please post clear, detailed pictures of both sides of the shield, showing your soldering.

User avatar
jimwims
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:17 pm

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by jimwims »

Herewith the requested photos and serial monitor output.

Thanks for your help.

IMG_0381.JPG
IMG_0381.JPG (462.08 KiB) Viewed 505 times
IMG_0380.JPG
IMG_0380.JPG (485.09 KiB) Viewed 505 times
RX Buffer : 131 bytes
TX Buffer : 131 bytes
Free RAM: 1219

Initialising the CC3000 ...
Firmware V. : 1.32
MAC Address : 0x08 0x00 0x28 0x57 0x36 0x6B
Networks found: 10
================================================
SSID Name : M&J
RSSI : 53
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : M&J
RSSI : 83
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : TG1672G02
RSSI : 36
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : lig24
RSSI : 48
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : belkin.86e
RSSI : 33
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : J7DK7
RSSI : 33
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : scrubs-guest
RSSI : 39
Security Mode: 0

SSID Name : Carnegie Park
RSSI : 43
Security Mode: 0

SSID Name : NETGEAR78_2GEXT
RSSI : 37
Security Mode: 3

SSID Name : 11FX01013760
RSSI : 35
Security Mode: 1

================================================

Deleting old connection profiles

Attempting to connect to M&J
Connected!
Request DHCP
Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

User avatar
Franklin97355
 
Posts: 23912
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by Franklin97355 »

Are you sure M&J is set up to hand out DHCP addresses to the CC3000?

User avatar
jimwims
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:17 pm

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by jimwims »

I believe it is. M&J typically has six to ten other devices connected to it. I believe they all use DHCP since I have never tried to assign static IP addresses to them. I am using an Apple Time Capsule. AirPort utility says the router mode is DHCP and NAT. The DHCP range is 192.168.1.2 - 192.168.1.200. Is there anything else that needs to be changed to work with the CC3000?

User avatar
tdicola
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 9:11 pm

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by tdicola »

Thanks for all the details, one thing to try is giving the CC3000 a static IP on your network. That can help rule out any issues with DHCP--in particular I know some folks have had issues with Apple routers, so that's a good thing to try here. To give the CC3k a static IP address check out this commented section in the setup function of the buildtest sketch:

Code: Select all

  /* Optional: Set a static IP address instead of using DHCP.
     Note that the setStaticIPAddress function will save its state
     in the CC3000's internal non-volatile memory and the details
     will be used the next time the CC3000 connects to a network.
     This means you only need to call the function once and the
     CC3000 will remember the connection details.  To switch back
     to using DHCP, call the setDHCP() function (again only needs
     to be called once).
  */
  /*
  uint32_t ipAddress = cc3000.IP2U32(192, 168, 1, 19);
  uint32_t netMask = cc3000.IP2U32(255, 255, 255, 0);
  uint32_t defaultGateway = cc3000.IP2U32(192, 168, 1, 1);
  uint32_t dns = cc3000.IP2U32(8, 8, 4, 4);
  if (!cc3000.setStaticIPAddress(ipAddress, netMask, defaultGateway, dns)) {
    Serial.println(F("Failed to set static IP!"));
    while(1);
  }
  */
Uncomment the code that sets the IP, netmask, etc. and change any values like default gateway if you know it's different. The DNS server it will use is the Google DNS server at 8.8.4.4 too, but you can change that to any DNS server you'd like too (check out the network information for a computer on your network and it should point you towards the default gateway and DNS server from your ISP).

Then run the build test sketch with that code uncommented and it should save the static IP details in the CC3000's internal memory so future sketches don't need to set the static IP again. If you ever want to switch back then just uncomment the lines below that block which show calling the setDHCP function (and it also gets remembered so it only has to run once).

Give setting a static IP a shot and lets see if that helps with the DHCP issues and getting on your network, thanks!

User avatar
jimwims
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:17 pm

Re: CC3000 Shield Firmware Upgrade Question

Post by jimwims »

I gave this a try, but still no joy.

Using IDE ver 1.62 and running buildtest in the current CC3000 library, I commented the set static IP address. The serial monitor showed the following:

Attempting to connect to M&J
Connected!
Request DHCP
Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!


IP Addr: 192.168.1.19
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCPsrv: 0.0.0.0
DNSserv: 8.8.4.4
http://www.adafruit.com ->

buildtest then appeared to hang and went no further.

I then recommended out the static IP address code and ran buildtest again with the following result:

Attempting to connect to M&J
Connected!
Request DHCP
Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!

Unable to retrieve the IP Address!


IP Addr: 192.168.1.19
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCPsrv: 0.0.0.0
DNSserv: 8.8.4.4
http://www.adafruit.com -> Couldn't resolve!
Couldn't resolve!
Couldn't resolve!
Couldn't resolve!
Couldn't resolve! ....

I also tried using my usual DNS server, 207.69.188.185, with no better results.

Any other suggestions? Thanks very much for your help.!

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”