[Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
User avatar
xenonmax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:03 pm

[Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by xenonmax »

Hello,

I bought the kit METRO and FONA 3G Europe. I have the assembly as on the tutorial but when I launch the program I have this error.
I have not bad to look for the solution on the forum but I do not understand what does not go.

Needs it necessarily a battery so that works?

Here is my assembly:
Image
Last edited by xenonmax on Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

The FONA requires a battery. The USB power is only for charging the battery - it does NOT power the FONA.

User avatar
xenonmax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:03 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by xenonmax »

Thanks Rick,

I am going to test that from Wednesday and then I will make a return if everything works well.

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

You should use at least a 1200mAh LiPo battery:
https://www.adafruit.com/product/258

User avatar
xenonmax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:03 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by xenonmax »

Hi,

I bought on your site a battery, and now I can see the flashed red led (200ms/200ms).
But when I connect my computer on METRO, and start program, it says that he does not find FONA.

I verified the assembly and the welds but I do not still find the problem.

Code: Select all

FONA basic test
Initializing....(May take 3 seconds)
	---> AT
	<--- 
	---> AT
	<--- 
	---> AT
	<--- ��
	---> ATE0
	<--- 
	---> ATE0
	<--- 
Couldn't find FONA
Can you help me please ?

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Please post clear, detailed pictures of both sides of the FONA, showing your soldering and wiring

User avatar
xenonmax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:03 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by xenonmax »

Hello,

Here some photos:

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Thank you in advance for your help.

User avatar
xenonmax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:03 pm

Re: Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by xenonmax »

I found!

In the script, you shouldn't use the line:

Code: Select all

// Use this one for FONA 3G
//Adafruit_FONA_3G fona = Adafruit_FONA_3G(FONA_RST);
With this line, that works:

Code: Select all

// Use this for FONA 800 and 808s
Adafruit_FONA fona = Adafruit_FONA(FONA_RST);
Even if I have the model FONA 3G.

Thank you anyway for your help!

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

That's just not right. You'll probably have some problems with this, since there are some differences in the 3G commands. I don't understand why it won't work with Adafruit_FONA_3G. I'll see what I can find out.

User avatar
adafruit2
 
Posts: 22148
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit2 »

did you remember to fix the baud rate?

User avatar
mimosa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by mimosa »

so what's the baud rate that works with the FONA board?

User avatar
adafruit2
 
Posts: 22148
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit2 »

115200

User avatar
Prostar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:20 pm

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by Prostar »

Hello,

I recently read your posts and I seem to be having similar problems. All the wires have been soldered correctly and there is a battery attached however when I upload the fona test code it comes up with couldn't find fona. I tried changing the code to run the font rst but it didn't work either.

Please help
Thanks in advance

User avatar
adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 35092
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Please post some pictures showing your soldering and wiring.

Also, post the exact output from Serial Monitor

User avatar
Prostar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 7:20 pm

Re: [Solved] Couldn't find FONA - METRO FONA 3G

Post by Prostar »

I apologise for the late response. I have been quite busy with other work so I haven't been able to work on my arduino project much. Anyway here is a link to the pictures of my arduino project. They are on imager because I couldn't seem to upload them on this reply. http://imgur.com/a/MFb97

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”