help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Talk about YBoxen, widgets, Propeller hacking, etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
duganj
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:41 pm

help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by duganj »

Hi, I've run into a wall with this problem, and would appreciate any guidance.

I built from parts ordered from Mouser. I'm using a pin swapped FTDI cable to do the programming. I can compile and load the bootloader just fine, but when it starts up I hit this "Initial Configuration Failed!" error. I've connected pins 2 and 7 of the EEPROM, tried swapped EEPROM chips, but no luck.

Am I missing something here? Other suggestions? Would hardware problems be causing this? I didn't attach a buzzer or LED and their associated resistors. Also using a Ethernet jack w/o LED's, so no resistors there either.

I'm getting no activity lights from my router, or connection when connected directly to my computer.

Thanks,

John

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by adafruit »

where is this error?

User avatar
duganj
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:41 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by duganj »

it appears right on the TV screen, just under the line that says "Initial Boot!"

the bootloader I'm using is here:
http://svn.deepdarc.com/code/ybox2/trunk/firmware/

User avatar
duganj
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:41 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by duganj »

One additional piece of information I thought of:

When I first got everything soldered together and hooked up to the propeller tool I programmed one of the widgets directly to the EEPROM without loading the bootloader first.

I then realized that I needed to put the bootloader in the EEPROM and that's where I'm getting the troubles I'm seeing above.

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by adafruit »

do you have a 512k eeprom?

User avatar
duganj
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:41 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by duganj »


adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by adafruit »

dunno, never seen this in one of the kits so its something missing when you DIY'd it.
you should probably just burn widgets directly on?
maybe darco will show up and have an idea, but i dont know

User avatar
ClockLoop
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by ClockLoop »

looking at the boot loader file, i searched for your error.

Im guessing you can't read spin?

fnot settings.findKey(settings#NET_MAC_ADDR)
if \initial_configuration <> 1
term.str(string("Initial configuration failed!",13))


then I looked for "initial_configuration" which is a "PRI"

And located in the PRI is this: (PRI stands for private method)

PRI initial_configuration | i
term.str(string("First boot!",13))

settings.purge

random.start

' Make a random UUID
repeat i from 0 to 16
byte[@stack] := random.random
settings.setData(settings#MISC_UUID,@stack,16)

' Make a random MAC Address
byte[@stack][0] := $02
repeat i from 1 to 5
byte[@stack] := random.random
settings.setData(settings#NET_MAC_ADDR,@stack,6)

random.stop

settings.commit
return 1



So whats going on is your code is returning without a 1
That means that its never getting to "return 1"
somehow the code is "returning" without finishing the Private method

most likely its returning from another PUB or PRI method, or object.

after looking at "settings.spin" it looks like the issue is in there somewhere.


try this suggestion also, which is inside the " settings.spin file"



This object handles the storage and retreval of variables
and data which need to persist across power cycles.

By default requires a 64KB EEPROM to save things persistantly.
You can make it work with a 32KB EEPROM by changing the
EEPROMOffset constant to zero.


Can you program the bootloader into the eeprom properly? (not just load it)?

I hope this helps.

(Clock Loop @ parallax forums)

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by adafruit »

wow! thanks for your help. I can read spin but i am very bad at it and never got the hang of the language :(

User avatar
ClockLoop
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:31 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by ClockLoop »

No problem, I have no idea if I helped tho, and I didn't dig very deep, plus I don't own a ybox2 (although, it interests me, bonus points for using a propeller in the design)

I just started learning spin 3 months ago(although I was learning it 24/7, *jobless*). I found that because I was familiar with the parallax SXB language, and the Basic language, it was fairly easy to pick up.
Spin is actually a pretty intuitive language.

I find myself having a problem programming, not due to the complexity, but due to the fact that I can't choose how to go about the program, there are too many ways to do it in spin.

P.S. you might like this little music monster that I made/invented. (an x0x wannabee)
http://forums.parallax.com/forums/defau ... 1&m=376422
wOoT

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm

Re: help with "Initial Configuration Failed!"

Post by adafruit »

neat!

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “YBox2 (discontinued)”