What Power Supply

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
koachkletus

What Power Supply

Post by koachkletus »

SIAP but I am a complete thin skinned newb to the arduino world. I have the uno 3 and the motorshield from adafruit (love the site). I am attempting to power a stepper motor (Stepper motor - 200 steps/rev, 12V 350mA) and was wondering what the best way to power the motor is? I have tried going through the arduino (usb)(using the jumper with no response) and figured that I wasn't getting enough juice to the stepper. Help!! Thanks!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: What Power Supply

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

I have tried going through the arduino (usb)(using the jumper with no response)
USB is not the best way to power these, but you should get some action from them. I suspect there may be a problem with the shield or the wiring. Are these the first motors you have attempted to run with the shield?

If you post photos, front & back of the board we'll take a look for any assembly issues.

koachkletus

Post by koachkletus »

Thanks for the response. I have carefully reviewed my construction (soldering and placement of elements) of the adafruit motor shield. Everything is exact according to the instructions and photo's. I have wired the stepper motor to M1 & M2 - red-yellow (no ground) green- brown. With the jumper on - the green led is lit (on the motor shield). using a multi meter - I am showing 3 volts (M1- ground) and only 2 volts at (M2 - ground). M3 & M4 are showing only 1 volt. Is this normal? Please be kind,,,,I am as green as they come :D

adafruit_support_bill

using a multi meter - I am showing 3 volts (M1- ground) and only 2 volts at (M2 - ground).