Data lgger shield kit

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
carbazole

Data lgger shield kit

Post by carbazole »

Hi- I'm not exactly new to electronic kit building but I am new to arduino and recently bought the data logger shield kit to go with an uno I have. My son and I are going on a week-long BSA camping expedition and though that a mini-weather station would be neat to bring with us (and play with the data later). So, with that in mind, a few questions:

1) The kit comes with temperature and light sensors. I have purchased with it your AM2302 (wired DHT22) temperature-humidity sensor and your BMP085 Barometric Pressure/Temperature/Altitude Sensor- 5V ready. How hard would it be to either add these sensors to the kit, or replace the temperature sensor with the temp/humidity sensor and replace the light sensor with the barometric pressure sensor? Please also note that I'm not all that familiar with coding, so a description of how the code for that would be altered would be helpful as well.

2) Considering the baterry life, the size of the data card, and the relative sampling rates of the sensors, what do you recomend for data point aquisition intervals? 1/min, 1/10 min, 1/hour?

3) Finally, I will definitely use fresh batteries, but was considering bringing my solar USB device charger:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004GV ... 06_s00_i02

Can I hook it up to the USB input of the arduino during the day and save the battery box for night with out much data loss/errors created by the switch over? Better yet, can I build a simple device that will switch automatically?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Steve

adafruit_support_rick

Re: Data lgger shield kit

Post by adafruit_support_rick »