Motorshield V2 controlling stepper

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
kinetics

Motorshield V2 controlling stepper

Post by kinetics »

Caution: rank newbie here. I do understand basic electronics, but have very limited, and no recent, experience in physical computing.
I have the Adafruit motor shield V2. I have an art object I need to rotate using a stepper motor (Adafruit #324). I have run the stepper using the Uno with the Adafruit shield with the StepperTest sketch from the Adafruit_Motorshield library. Works fine.
However, I don’t think I can get the kind of control of the stepper that I want using the Adafruit Motorshield library sketches as a starting point. I have in mind writing a program that will put the art thingy thru a demo of different kinds of motion – rotate this way, that way, accelerate, decelerate, long time, short time, wait a while, etc. – to show off what it can do, and also allow a user to take over from the program and play with it by controlling direction, speed, duration. RPMs in the range of 20 to 60. I think stepper motors are what I want, what with all the start/stop/reversing, low RPM, need to control revolutions to fractions of a revolution, etc.
1) Is the V2 motor shield a reasonable choice?
2) Any suggestions for libraries that would be handy?
3) Do you think the Uno is up to the task? (I am thinking of how to allow a user to take over from the demo program and control the art thing.)

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Motorshield V2 controlling stepper

Post by adafruit_support_bill »