Motor Shield Kit V2.0 - Stepper Motor Inaction

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
davidh28

Motor Shield Kit V2.0 - Stepper Motor Inaction

Post by davidh28 »

I am using an arduino uno and the Motor Shield v2.0 to interface to two stepper motor using the grbl program for an XY layout. I am using the UCS program responding over the USB port. I do get response from limit switches (pins 9-11) and spindle control (pin 12), but I do not get any response of the stepper motors. The USC program indicates coordinate changes on command, but no motor response. The motor power led is on indicating power. I have check across the motor coils during movement instructions, but find no voltage, either dc or ac across any coils, and there is no motor holding force. The voltage to the motors is 12.1 volts for the 12 volt steppers. I am new to these projects.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Motor Shield Kit V2.0 - Stepper Motor Inaction

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Can you post the code you are using on the Arduino?

davidh28

Post by davidh28 »

The code flashed to the Arduino uno R3 is grbl_v0_8c_atmega328p_16mhz_9600.hex. The program seems to work as I get the response from the UCS (Universal Code Sender) program interface over the USB port for various commands. When I send a linear motion command, like G00X200, there is no response from the stepper or voltage detected on the stepper coils (or the terminals on the shield). I can send other commands, like spindle control or limit switch actuation, and I get the appropriate response.

adafruit_support_bill

The code flashed to the Arduino uno R3 is grbl_v0_8c_atmega328p_16mhz_9600.hex.
Do you have a link to where you got this code (and any associated documentation)?
Do you know if this code was designed to work with the Adafruit V2 motor shield?

davidh28

Post by davidh28 »