adafruit motor shield v2 low torque

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ams_vu

adafruit motor shield v2 low torque

Post by ams_vu »

Hi,

I am new to both Arduino projects and forum posts...but here goes:

I am currently trying to make a z-stage with user control through a matlab gui. Before moving to matlab, I had the z-stage working very smoothly using an arduino uno, easy driver and stepper motor. I could control speed, number of steps, etc. Then I purchased the motor shield to move to the matlab interface. Now, when I run the motor using the motor shield v2 library and matlab to microstep, even at the highest speed setting of 255, the motor seems to have very low torque and turns very slowly (eventually the motor also heats up). For the most part I am just using the commands stepperSpeed and stepperStep in matlab. Do you have any ideas as to what could be causing this?

I am happy to provide any additional information needed to answer the question.

Thank you for the help!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: adafruit motor shield v2 low torque

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Some detail would be helpful
What motor?
What power supply?
What code are you using?

ams_vu

Post by ams_vu »

Thank you for the reply. The motor is a 42BYGH series (NEMA17). I am using a 12V power supply to the power terminal on the motor shield. I also have the USB plugged into my laptop to talk to matlab. As for the code, I have the motor_v2 library uploaded to the arduino. Then, in matlab I run the attached code. Note most of the code is just the structure of the gui. The part that deals with the arduino is essentially the following:

delete(instrfind({'Port'},{'COM3'}));
clear a;
global a;
a = arduino('COM3');

length = str2double(get(handles.length_Input,'String'))

if get(handles.direction,'Value') == 1
dir = 'forward'
else