Memorial day is 05/25/2015 – Orders will ship out on May 26th. There will not be any deliveries or shipping on Monday. Any order placed after 11am ET on Friday May 22nd will not start to ship out until Tuesday May 26th.

Monochron - Change Size of Dali Clock
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Re: Monochron - Change Size of Dali Clock

by adafruit_support_rick on Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:42 pm

try it on the original 28X64 digits. See if you get the same thing for 0.bmp as I did.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 18369
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Monochron - Change Size of Dali Clock

by edc1591 on Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:50 pm

Doing that gives me the same output as you. So I guess the problem lies with how I'm resizing the images. I noticed that the un-resized images are 318 bytes, but when I resize them (make them smaller) in Photoshop and save them as bitmaps, they are 4 KB. Shouldn't they be smaller in size since I'm scaling them down?
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron - Change Size of Dali Clock

by adafruit_support_rick on Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:20 pm

Make sure Photoshop is saving them as true 1-bit per pixel bitmaps. If 24X54 images are coming out as 4K, then Photoshop is probably saving them as 24-bit color.
Notice that the originals are 26 X 64 = 1792 pixels. The only way to get that into 318 bytes is if you're only using 1 bit per pixel: 1792 / 8 = 224 bytes (plus file overhead)

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 18369
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Monochron - Change Size of Dali Clock

by edc1591 on Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:38 pm

Any idea how to do that in Photoshop? I can't find anything about that in Photoshop or on Google.
edc1591
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:12 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Monochron - Change Size of Dali Clock

by adafruit_support_rick on Tue Aug 14, 2012 5:58 pm

I don't have photoshop. But there will be some option someplace about bit depth (should be 1), or black-and-white (not grayscale). You should see these options on a Save As… or if you do an Export…

If you're running windows, just use paint.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 18369
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY