Monochron buttons not functional..
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Monochron buttons not functional..

by despo on Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:09 pm

Hi my doughter (12years old) built the monochron clock, after watching the minimaker show on youtube.

Since we live in Sweden the included poweradapter did not work.
I found another adapter in the part's bin rated at 9v.
Connected and destroyed the TO-92 (got hot and stopped working)...
Measuring poweradapter... to high voltage.
Replaced the TO-92 (and poweradapter).

The clocks starts up.
Display is working (playing pong).

The problem is that the buttons are not working.

Measured between gnd and button input on uC (with uC removed):
No Push =1.9k
Push S1 =0k
Push S2 =0.85k
Push S2 =1.48k

Is this correct?

Any ideas?
Is it possible that the analog input on the uC is broken?
Did i break it (shame on me :oops: )...

Is it possible to order a new preprogrammed uC?
despo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:51 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by adafruit_support_bill on Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:38 pm

Measured between gnd and button input on uC (with uC removed):
No Push =1.9k
Push S1 =0k
Push S2 =0.85k
Push S2 =1.48k

From the schematic, I'd expect it to be 3k, 0k, 1k & 2k.

Image

If you post photos of the front & back of the board, we'll take a closer look.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 31033
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by despo on Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:00 pm

Here are the pictures..
Attachments
mono4.jpg
mono4.jpg (440.89 KiB) Viewed 1533 times
mono3.jpg
mono3.jpg (458.13 KiB) Viewed 1533 times
despo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:51 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by adafruit_support_bill on Fri Sep 21, 2012 3:22 pm

Very good work on the soldering! :D
Still, the resistance readings are suspect. Did you make these readings with the power disconnected? What does your meter say when you measure directly across R4?
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 31033
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by despo on Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:23 pm

I made the readings without cpu and power.
Resistance over R4 is 880 Ohms... so somthing else in parallell then :/
despo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:51 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:34 am

Do you get the same 880 ohm reading from all the 1K resistors? It could be a meter calibration issue too...
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 31033
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by despo on Sat Sep 22, 2012 7:16 am

I have got 880 Ohms across all of them... I Belive that i am close(er) to 1k if i desolder and measure..
I'll get another meter and measure today..
despo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:51 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by despo on Sat Sep 29, 2012 3:27 am

Tried another multimeter still not 3k, 0k, 1k & 2k.
despo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:51 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Sep 29, 2012 5:13 am

Still measuring 880 ohm when you measure directly across each of the 4 resistors (R3-R6)?
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 31033
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by despo on Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:27 pm

yes that is correct...
despo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:51 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by adafruit_support_bill on Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:20 pm

As long as they are all the same, the voltage divider should produce the right output. Since your assembly looks fine, let's try replacing the CPU. Contact support@adafruit.com with a link to this thread and ask for a replacement Monochron CPU.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 31033
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Monochron buttons not functional..

by wbp on Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:29 pm

If resistors measure 880 not 1k, wouldn't this indicate parallel resistance from the Vcc line? Since regulator failed and was replaced, makes me wonder. How about voltage measurements at each of the resistors with switch not pushed?

William
User avatar
wbp
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:18 pm