Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by Discopanda on Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:50 am

Hi, I have built one ice tube and want another but in a different style. Is it possible to replace the VFD with a graphical VFD (128x32) for example?

If yes, what would I need to do to make it work?

Many thanks,
Philip
Discopanda
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:11 am

Driving a graphical VFD is quite a bit different than driving a 7-segment display. The 128x64 module we carry http://www.adafruit.com/products/773 has its own on-board boost circuit & driver, so it wouldn't share much with the IceTube circuitry aside from the processor.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 30674
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by Discopanda on Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:36 am

Hmm ok. So... Any plans to
Produce a kit using the graphical VFD?? It wound be perfect for a bedside clock.
Discopanda
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:39 am

I'll forward that idea to Ladyada. I don't know of anything it the works.
User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 30674
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by Discopanda on Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:51 am

Many thanks, I'd appreciate that.
Discopanda
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by wbp on Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:17 am

Why not just put together your own clock using one of the smaller 'duinos, like a Teensy, some buttons, a piezo for the alarm, and that display? Use an Ultimate GPS module and your clock can set itself. I've already posted Arduino code on Github that supports the Ultimate GPS and does Automatic DST adjustments (for the Alpha Five clock).

Or drive it with a Raspberry Pi and it can set itself from the 'net, and display pretty much any info you like - weather, Tweets, stock prices - you name it!

William
User avatar
wbp
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:18 pm

Re: Ice Tube: can I use a different vfd?

by Discopanda on Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:14 pm

I'm afraid all of that is way beyond my capability. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Which is annoying as I have the skills to machine a nice aluminium enclosure; just nothing to put in it! :?

Is there anywhere/one that can fabricate such items without charging hundreds of dollars?
Discopanda
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 9:41 am