Manncorp 7700FV
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by blogger on Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:18 am

That would be an equivalent of stopping someone on the street to ask what time it is and having them read off 2 hours worth of Lorem Ipsum.
blogger
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:59 am

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by adafruit on Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:13 pm

not sure what you mean by that comment. we often show problems and repairs we've made on the pick&place on the video. you can also check the wiki, which we update with our troubleshooting
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11745
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by freaklabs on Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:24 pm

For people trying to decide whether or not its worth it to buy a pick and place machine, here's my experience on it. Soldering by hand is okay if you're only doing runs of 5-10 boards of fair complexity. This is usually just prototype quantities or people that are building stuff for themselves. If you are doing batch runs of 200+ of the same board, then it may make sense to have it assembled by an outside assembly house. At these quantities, the prices get sort of reasonable so the assembly cost per board drops. The only downside is the turnaround time and shipping off all your components to them.

If you're doing small runs of about 20-200 boards per run, and you are trying to maintain a variety of designs that sell in these low quantities, then you should probably look into a pick and place machine. Soldering by hand, or even hand placing on solder pasted boards, is inefficient and you'll most likely start needing to hire help. This is the area that I'm in where I do batches of about 40-50 boards at a time. The pick and place machine dramatically speeds things up where I can get the surface mount components all placed and reflowed in a single day. The thru hole components require manual assembly so I'm keeping these to a minimum, mostly DC jacks and headers.

I suspect that shops catering to electronics enthusiast communities will start looking more into pick and place machines as they run into the huge gray area between manual and outsourced assembly.
freaklabs
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:42 pm

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by gsattler on Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:17 pm

Early last week I directly emailed MDC in Japan asking for a quote and they referred me to Manncorp to get a quote. Looks like they have some sort of agreement that Manncorp covers the US market.
gsattler
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by adafruit on Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:16 pm

Yup, they are the US distributors
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11745
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by gsattler on Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:13 pm

Just bought a MDC Luna EXP 7722 (Manncorp 7722-FV) from Manncorp. Got a cut tape strip feeder for the front, 10 reels for the back and a tube shaker for the side. I'll be fighting that for a while when it comes it. I'm looking forward to being able to place 0402's and fine pitch parts.
gsattler
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by adafruit on Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:44 pm

wow, well now the machine is on the way :) dont forget if you ned 0402 reels they have a special feeder (or you can just lose 50% of the parts. for 5% resistors really it might be OK :)
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11745
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by gsattler on Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:46 pm

We'll start our learning curve off with 0804's and after we get some experience we can move on to the harder stuff. Its exciting to be getting a P&P machine with top and bottom vision.
gsattler
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by gsattler on Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:22 pm

ralph, we've had lots of success with repeated placement of ADSP-BF561 BGAs on our 7722FV. The important thing to realize is that if you power cycle the machine you will definitely have to recalibrate to the setup all over again to get accurate placement.
gsattler
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by adafruit on Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:13 pm

hmm what do you mean by that? do you use fiducials? or do you mean the Bias?
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11745
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by isozee on Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:46 pm

Hi! isozee from Tokyo.
adafruit wrote "dont forget if you ned 0402 reels they have a special feeder (or you can just lose 50% of the parts."
MDC machine in DOS age had feature to use standard 4mm pitch tape for 0402 to expose 2 chips and first picks up chip from 2mm offset pocket and no tape advance and then picks up 2nd chip from taught position and advance tape to expose 2 chips and repeat it. This case some chip flip up in pocket may happens but better than 50%.
Is it worth to add such feature for current low cost machine?
isozee
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 11:29 pm

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by adafruit on Sun Mar 28, 2010 11:35 am

Hello Isozee! Welcome to this forum, here we discuss your machine for future customers and also help people. Mr Sattler uses 0402, but we do not, maybe he can tell you whether it is useful. I suppose you can put in 0.5 for index and that would be useful :)
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11745
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by pulsedpower on Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:15 pm

Did you ever try the Astrodyne power supply?
pulsedpower
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:03 pm

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by adafruit on Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:45 pm

Sadly, no. We have been really swamped with all things adafruity and so we ordered the astrodyne but havent installed it. Part of that is because we have the speed slow enough that we have no emergency stop issues. Since machine speed isnt the bottleneck, it hasn't been a priority. did it solve your problems?
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11745
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Manncorp 7700FV

by pulsedpower on Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:56 am

Yes, it works fine with the Astrodyne, but even slowed down we couldn't use the machine with the Lambda power supply. I was just wondering if my fix had worked for anyone else.
pulsedpower
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:03 pm