PCB assembly versus shared equipment

Chat about pick and place machines, reflow ovens, assembly techniques and other SMT tips & trix

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
bootstrap

PCB assembly versus shared equipment

Post by bootstrap »

I've been doing other projects for nearly 4 years, and now finally just about ready to get back to building devices with PCBs with fine-pitch SMTs. At worst I need equipment to support 0201 discretes and BGA/QFN/etc with 0.50mm or finer pitch (0.30mm would be great).

When I was last at this point I was scandalized at how much assembly houses charge for prototype PCB assembly, which got me to look into buying pick-and-place, reflow-ovens and stencil machines... or building something myself. While I had some great ideas for DIY, I didn't have enough time for "yet-another-project".

Now that I'm ready to dive into this issue again, I decided I should first ask whether PCB assembly houses have become more affordable during the past 4 years. Have they? Can anyone answer that?

One alternative is to share the cost of those 3 pieces of equipment with someone else who also wants to assembly PCBs from time to time. I figure the three pieces of equipment will cost roughly $50,000 to $60,000.

Another alternative is to establish a special-purpose high-end makerspace of sorts where several people share the costs. Perhaps such a collaboration could be set up with 3 or more kinds of members, namely:

#1: contribute money and access the machine personally.
#2: contribute money and let other members assemble their PCBs.
#3: cannot contribute money but assemble PCBs for others in exchange for equipment access.

In theory I could buy all the equipment ($60K), but that's a bit crazy since I will probably only keep the equipment busy one week per year (2% utilization). With 2 people, that's $30K each. With 3 people, that's $20K each. With 4 people, that's $15K each.