Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by modeller on Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:44 pm

neslekkim wrote:fake, as fake as the hakko fx888, fx951.. fx951-fakes sells for $50 on aliexpress ;)

I bought the previous hakko termometer, also around $15, seems like it works good enough, uses the same sensors.


I got the Hakko FG-100 today. If it's a fake then I'm really impressed with the ability of the fakers. I don't have a "real" one to compare to but, honestly, it would be hard for me to even guess. I mean there are no flaws at all. The box even has a foil-type label. Maybe it isn't a fake? Maybe the cost in the far East is just very low?
Attachments
hakko_therm.JPG
hakko_therm.JPG (99.6 KiB) Viewed 1787 times
User avatar
modeller
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by neslekkim on Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:48 pm

It pussles me sometimes also.. (like when I bought 50 pcs 74hc595 for total $8.. need to build an testrig for those I guess)

Do you have link for that?, is it measuring F or C?
neslekkim
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:20 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by modeller on Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:59 pm

neslekkim wrote:It pussles me sometimes also.. (like when I bought 50 pcs 74hc595 for total $8.. need to build an testrig for those I guess)

Do you have link for that?,


Yes sir -

http://www.ebay.com/itm/160933470443?ss ... 1497.l2649

is it measuring F or C?


C, which is no big deal to me.
User avatar
modeller
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by analoger on Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:39 am

If it's a fake, how can you be sure it's not giving you a fake measurement?
analoger
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:11 pm

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by modeller on Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:38 pm

analoger wrote:If it's a fake, how can you be sure it's not giving you a fake measurement?



Hahaha - because ... well the reason would be ... um ... uh ...

I'll get back to you. :shock:
User avatar
modeller
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by modeller on Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:54 pm

analoger wrote:If it's a fake, how can you be sure it's not giving you a fake measurement?


OK, here's what happened. The Hakko soldering station I bought was NOT a fake, so I'm making a rash assumption that it's calibrated since I just got it. If it had been two years, then no ...

I set up the station and FG-100 to make a measurement. The FG-100 senses room temperature and that was spot-on. I turned on the FX-888 and set it to 300C. I waited a little while and put a small spot of solder on the tip, and touched it to the sensor.

I kid you not, I am not joking, and I was shocked -

The FG-100 read ...

300C

It was not even off by 1 deg at first, then went up to 302C after a bit.

:shock:
User avatar
modeller
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by analoger on Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:26 am

Interesting. :o
analoger
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:11 pm

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by neslekkim on Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:35 pm

Great, ordered!
$16.88 with shipping is very cheap for this, and if it measures correctly its good enough ;)

I checked the the price for the same model, original here in Norway... $520.. that's crazy..
neslekkim
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:20 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by modeller on Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:30 pm

neslekkim wrote:Great, ordered!
$16.88 with shipping is very cheap for this, and if it measures correctly its good enough ;)

I checked the the price for the same model, original here in Norway... $520.. that's crazy..


Cool - I hope yours woks as well.

Couple of other things -

Just because I'm me :D I took a piece of ice out of my freezer and touched it to the FG-100 thermocouple. It read 0 to 1 C. It sure has a pretty wide range.

My 15W Radio Shack iron runs at 360C.
User avatar
modeller
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by Jaydekay on Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:33 pm

FACTORY RESET SEQUENCE FOUND!

I did the same thing as the OP. After some searching around I found a Factory Reset Sequence that was provided by a Hakko rep.

Check it out here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ecH4c6NdBuo

Enjoy!
Jaydekay
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by adafruit_support_mike on Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:36 am

Interesting.. thanks for posting that!
When you void a product warranty, you give up your right to sue the manufacturer if something goes wrong and accept full responsibility for whatever happens next. And then you truly own the product.
User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 10757
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by adafruit on Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:34 pm

Thanks, we added it to the product page
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11740
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by Jaydekay on Wed Jan 01, 2014 5:14 pm

You're very welcome, cheers!
Jaydekay
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by neslekkim on Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:11 pm

If you have one that is Celcius, this trick changes it to farenheit, but I did it one more time, but pressed ok at the A symbol, and it got back to C..
neslekkim
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 4:20 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Got in Trouble with Hakko FX-888D

by Chamie on Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:17 pm

neslekkim wrote:If you have one that is Celcius, this trick changes it to farenheit, but I did it one more time, but pressed ok at the A symbol, and it got back to C..

I bet that means United States and Asian defaults.
Also, F/C can be set in the settings menu:
Hakko.png
Hakko.png (16.64 KiB) Viewed 330 times
Chamie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2014 6:05 pm