New Scope

Hand tools, soldering irons, scopes, multimeters. Talk about em HERE!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
mfinkelstein3

New Scope

Post by mfinkelstein3 »

Hi,

I'd like your recommendation on a good first scope. I build beginner, intermediate projects from kits and am thinking of expanding into ugly construction of radio receiver/xmitter circuits. I am an amateur radio operator and would like to build an amp along the way.

I have an old analogy scope, but would like to upgrade to a digital one. Which do you think would work best for me, a 100MHz 2 channel, or a 50MHz 4 channel scope. Both are the same price.

Thank you in advance,
Mark

adafruit_support_mike

Re: New Scope

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Hmm.. good question.

In general, bandwidth beats everything else. Having more channels is convenient, but not absolutely necessary. A 2-channel scope can measure anything a 4-channel scope can. A 100MHz scope can measure things a 50MHz scope can't though.

Having said that, doubling the bandwidth may or may not be all that big an improvement.

In practical terms, a scope has three operating regions:

- below 20% of its top speed, you can examine waveforms (time domain)
- above 20% of its top speed, you can measure sine waves (frequency domain)

That's more a rule of thumb than a hard limit.. every trace on a scope's screen is a combination of the actual input and distortion produced by the scope's limits. Below 10-20% of a scope's top speed, the effects of distortion are so much smaller than the effects of the input that you can ignore them.

Above 20%, the distortion becomes too big to ignore. Square waves start rounding off and looking like sine waves, fast spikes start losing height and gaining width, and the delay between "when the input changed" and "when the scope started to respond" becomes a noticable fraction of the overall signal response time.