PWM of WS2812 5050 RGB LED with Integrated Driver Chip's

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
lucs

PWM of WS2812 5050 RGB LED with Integrated Driver Chip's

Post by lucs »

Hello,

I'm a light painter. Will the new WS2812 5050 RGB LED with Integrated Driver Chip's support a PWM rate of at least 5kHZ.

I do like these new chips because I like the very compact form factor and it would open more roads for much compacter devices. Currently, I'm using the 12mm Diffused Thin Digital RGB LED Pixels (Strand of 25) - WS2801. They extremely nicely to program, but looking from the side, there is a lot of loss of light (and certainly color) information. There 12mm LEDs are a bit big, but they get the job done. I also need to tell you that my devices are moving rather quickly (between 80 and 200 rpm and I would like to go further).

I see that the communication speed is mentioned (800 kHz) but I miss the PWM frequency, or is it the same? Then, I'm puzzled with the rating of FPS (at a certain place I've read 50 FPS)? Perhaps an oversight on my part.

Further more some additional information: I'm working with the Arduino Nano and Mini at 16MHz. I use about 10 LED's per device.

And now I do hope I have not overlooked a question already covering this same topic. Then please refer me to that link.

Kind regards,

Luc
Belgium

pburgess

Re: PWM of WS2812 5050 RGB LED with Integrated Driver Chip's

Post by pburgess »

Hi Luc,