Am I damaging my NeoPixel LED strips? (Only first pixel in string is working)

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
bobthenob

Am I damaging my NeoPixel LED strips? (Only first pixel in string is working)

Post by bobthenob »

#1 I am a noob with these LED strips (NeoPixel Digital RGB LED Weatherproof Strip) & am fully open to the possibility that, as I experiment with them, I may be causing damage.

Here's what's happening: I keep finding myself in a state where only the *first* pixel in the strip is working; all others are completely dark, even if the whole strip was working yesterday (all pixels are receiving power; the whole strip flashes once when I plug in). It seems that the signal isn't making it past the first pixel. If I cut off that first pixel & resolder the signal wire to the second pixel, the whole strip works again. The strip is just lying on my workbench, not undergoing any flexing or stress. Wiggling/squeezing the strip has no effect. I'm using an Arduino Mega & playing with the Strandtest sketch.

Any ideas? This has happened 3 times ... Could it be a power surge when I plug in? Other?

adafruit_support_bill

Re: Am I damaging my NeoPixel LED strips? (Only first pixel in string is working)

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

What are you using to power it? All pixels are wired in parallel as far as power is concerned. There will be some voltage drop from one end to the other, but the difference in voltage between the first few pixels should be negligible.

EternalCore

Re: Am I damaging my NeoPixel LED strips? (Only first pixel in string is working)

Post by EternalCore »

Make sure you are soldering to the DI(Data-in) side of the strip and NOT the DO(Data-Out) side of the strip. More info here: [SOLVED]Neo Pixel With Arduino UNO(ATMEGA328P-PU) NOT Working...

bobthenob