I think I've damaged my neopixel 60 strip

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Azam

I think I've damaged my neopixel 60 strip

Post by Azam »

Hi,

I'm a beginner with arduino, Neopixels made me want to get started but at this point I'm about ready to give up.
Please bear with me if I miss some details out but I've got an arduino leonardo, the neopixel strip with 60 LED's. I'm using a 5V 1A power supply and had my setup with capacitor and resistor wired up as in the neopixel guide.
Everything worked beautifully until I decided to translate the capacitor/resistor/wiring to a prototyping shield to keep everything neat. I neglected to include the ground wire between the arduino and the power supply.

The strip didn't light up and I later realised my mistake and included the ground cable, but not before I tried powering it up again a few times.
I can't get the neopixel strip to light up properly now. Sometimes only the first LED will light up, sometimes a few more further down the strip. When I turn the strip off, it seems that the first 5 or so leds flash briefly before the strip turns off.

Does it sound like I have fried the strip?
Do you think I can salvage any of it?
Also can you recommend a better way for me to try again? Maybe there is a shield that already exists for what I was trying to do on my own.

This setback has put a huge dent in my confidence as a beginner. Once I pick myself up, I am definitely going to try again and would appreciate any advice that you can give me.

Thanks in advance,
Azam

adafruit_support_bill

Re: I think I've damaged my neopixel 60 strip

Post by adafruit_support_bill »