Weird behavior with Neopixels

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
RogerInHawaii

Weird behavior with Neopixels

Post by RogerInHawaii »

I'm just getting started with neopixels but I have succeeded in connecting one to my Arduino Uno and controlling it. But I found an odd behavior. If I do something like:

Code: Select all

pixels.setPixelColor(0, pixels.Color(255, 75,13));
    pixels.show(); 
    delay(1000);
It works as expected, showing the specified color for the time period of a second. But if I send all the same intensity values to the pixel, as in this:

pixels.setPixelColor(0, pixels.Color(128, 128, 128));
    pixels.show(); 
    delay(1000);
in which I'm hoping to get a half-intensity white light, the neopixel flashes momentarily but then goes black for the time period.
If I change any of the values just a little bit, like using (128, 126, 124) then it works as expected, although not quite the color I would like.

I tried numerous other values and it seems that if you specify the SAME value for each of the Red, Green, Blue values, it merely FLASHES that color but does not stay at the specified intensity.

Is it supposed to do that? It seems very weird to me.

hiduino

Re: Weird behavior with Neopixels

Post by hiduino »

Sounds like a power problem. How many Neopixels are you trying to turn on? How are you powering the Neopixels?

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Please post the complete code and more details about the rest of your setup. A photo might be helpful.

RogerInHawaii

Post by RogerInHawaii »

hiduino wrote:Sounds like a power problem. How many Neopixels are you trying to turn on? How are you powering the Neopixels?