Running Multiple Dotstar Strips from one Uno

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
sshh

Running Multiple Dotstar Strips from one Uno

Post by sshh »

Hi,

I'm working on a project that involves controlling 6 distinct DotStar strips using an Arduino Uno. As I'm quite new to this, I would appreciate it if someone could answer some queries.

1) Do the different output pins (those that support PWM and those that don't) matter? In other words, am I able to connect 6 strips to strip1_data = pin 2, strip1_clock = pin 3 ... strip6_data = pin 12, strip6_clock = pin 13?

2) With regards to powering the LED, I've ordered a 5V 4A power supply which should do the job as none of the strips would exceed 30cm. I'm thinking of soldering the 5V+ and GRD from all 6 strips together, and then connecting it to the 2.1mm female jack, would that be feasible? In addition, for the ground connection between the LED strips and the Arduino, which GRD pin on the Arduino should I be using? (the ones between the 5V/9V, or the one together with the digital IO pins, or does it not matter)

3) Does the Arduino support runtime user input? I would need to switch between different "modes" on the LEDs without the use of a hardware button, is it possible to do it from the terminal (cin, cout, etc)? I do have some experience in C/C++ but I'm not familiar with the Arduino implementation. Or am I just fresh out of luck and would have to switch "modes" through delays (acceptable but not preferred).