using connman to setup wifi

by kinetic_ion on Mon Jun 25, 2012 1:42 am

I am attempting to install the usb wifi adapter from the adafruit store with some progress. I followed the beaglebone usb wifi tutorial on ladyada and have completed every step successfully up to part where I have to create files in the connman folder.

I didn't have a file called "settings" in /var/lib/connman folder so I created one using nano.
Code: Select all
nano /var/lib/connman/settings


Contents of 'settings':
Code: Select all
[global]
OfflineMode=false

[WiFi]
Enable=true

[Bluetooth]
Enable=false

[Wired]
Enable=true

[3G]
Enable=false

[WiMAX] Enable=false


I also created a new file called "wifi.config" in the same folder.
Code: Select all
nano /var/lib/connman/wifi.config


Contents of 'wifi.config':
Code: Select all
[service_home]
Type=wifi
Name=MyNetworkNameCaseSeNSiTivE
Security=wpa
Passphrase=MyCaseSenSitivEPassWord


I then reset the connman
Code: Select all
sytemctl restart connman.services


I seem to not connect after using ifconfig wlan0.

Any idea what I can do next? I am connecting to a BB Rev A3 and using Terminal in Mac OSX.
kinetic_ion
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:57 am

Re: using connman to setup wifi

by adafruit on Mon Jun 25, 2012 8:41 pm

A3 is fairly old - we've only tested the wifi with A5 - can you burn a new SD card with the latest boot image? You may need a later kernel :(
User avatar
adafruit
 
Posts: 11511
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: using connman to setup wifi

by kinetic_ion on Thu Jun 28, 2012 2:02 am

Ok I got it working after updating to Angstrom v2012.05 - Kernel 3.2.18
kinetic_ion
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:57 am

Re: using connman to setup wifi

by DannyX on Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:01 pm

I am having a very similar problem which I believe maybe down to the fact I'm running kernel 3.2.14, is there a way to upgrade the kernel without having to reimage the sd card?
User avatar
DannyX
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:46 pm

Re: using connman to setup wifi

by tgalonso on Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:58 pm

if you have a working ethernet connected to the internet do:
opkg update
opkg upgrade

caution it takes hours!
tgalonso
tgalonso
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:45 am