Help with bootloader/programming, please!
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Help with bootloader/programming, please!

by raisin on Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:50 pm

Well, so I soldered the PIC on, and connected the wires. I use the programmer from SparkFun: HERE


According to them and to here, I connected all wires correctly, but the tinybld says "COM 1 found, PIC not found". There are no solder leaks/bridges, and there is voltage at the pins of the PIC.

1) Can someone tell me what voltage at what pins should i have?

2) What else do I need to check???

3) Could the problem be with the computer/software?


Thanks for any help!!!
raisin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:45 pm

by raisin on Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:43 pm

Nobody? :(

Well, at least some peoples' mintys worked...
raisin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:45 pm

by raisin on Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:24 pm

Wow.. 162 views and no replies :(

I guess nobody else ever had that problem.

Well, I'll start over with an extra board and see if it is going to work... if not, well too bad.
raisin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:45 pm

by raisin on Tue May 09, 2006 1:24 pm

Okay, maybe someone at least knows this: the programming requires 5 V, and I only have 4.85. Is this sufficient or could be a problem?
raisin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:45 pm

no programming

by lar on Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:24 pm

did you try another pic chip?
lar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 9:40 pm

by mikeccc987 on Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:28 pm

Is your powered on, it should be? Is your PIC bad? Also i've never programmed a PIC before so don't trust me over someone else.
Mmmmm....Toasty
User avatar
mikeccc987
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:26 pm

by sliverstorm on Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:18 am

Lacking voltage could be a severe problem; one chip I just programmed earlier today gave me issues because of a six-inch ribbon cable between the (homemade) JDM programmer and the serial port. Shortened the cable and it works fine now. The issue as I understand it is the PIC doesn't enter programming mode unless a threshold voltage is reached.

Other than that, check your pins, make sure Vcc and Vss (gnd) are paired right, chip connected right, etc...
sliverstorm
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:32 pm
Location: California