16 Channel Servo Driver - travel speed

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/
d0ctr

16 Channel Servo Driver - travel speed

Post by d0ctr »

Hey guys,

I just got the 16 Channel Servo Driver a couple days ago, everything's working fine.. I'm on the way to replace my custom build SPI Servo Drivers on my humanoid robot with this I2C one because I decided to let a RPi run the bot via Python, etc. this just makes everything easier, no compiling/flashing/etc. anymore. Just code, run the .py file and done.

But I'm stuck with two things, also I'm new to python.

#1: pwm.setPWM(servoChannel, 0, endPosition)
I didn't really study the library, but what the heck is the second argument (where I placed the 0) for? For me it looks like an offset?

#2: Travel speed
As I'm new to python and to adafruits lib, is there any function to control the speed of travel? For example I want to let the servo travel to it's end position in about 30 seconds, how could I do it? If I have to write the function does anybody have an idea for me? I don't want the whole code! I want to do this on my own but I need an idea how to start. I appreciate every help!

Cheers
d0ctr

adafruit_support_bill

Re: 16 Channel Servo Driver - travel speed

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

The library documentation is here: http://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-16-c ... -reference

To control the servo sweep speed, you need to write a loop that incrementally updates the servo position over time. For example, to sweep 180 degrees in 30 seconds, you could write a loop that increments the position by 3 degrees every 500 milliseconds.

bennakhi

Post by bennakhi »

adafruit_support_bill wrote:The library documentation is here: http://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-16-c ... -reference