RGB LCD Plate not working with Pi2

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/
JasonWDY8

RGB LCD Plate not working with Pi2

Post by JasonWDY8 »

Hi Everyone,

Please forgive my ignorance. I'm fairly new to the Pi stuff and Linux in general.

Had a RGB LCD plate working fine on a Raspberry Pi Model B. I've cloned the SD card and got that running with the Pi 2 no problem. I then installed the Adafruit RGB LCD Plate.

The issue I have now is that if I run any LCD related code, including the Adafruit example I get the following error message: -

pi@stourbridgewx:~/Adafruit_Python_CharLCD/examples$ sudo python char_lcd_rgb.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "char_lcd_rgb.py", line 6, in <module>
import Adafruit_CharLCD as LCD
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Adafruit_CharLCD-1.0.0-py2.7.egg/Adafruit_CharLCD/__init__.py", line 1, in <module>
from Adafruit_CharLCD import *
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Adafruit_CharLCD-1.0.0-py2.7.egg/Adafruit_CharLCD/Adafruit_CharLCD.py", line 89, in <module>
class Adafruit_CharLCD(object):
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Adafruit_CharLCD-1.0.0-py2.7.egg/Adafruit_CharLCD/Adafruit_CharLCD.py", line 95, in Adafruit_CharLCD
gpio=GPIO.get_platform_gpio(),
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Adafruit_GPIO-0.7.1-py2.7.egg/Adafruit_GPIO/GPIO.py", line 321, in get_platform_gpio
import Adafruit_BBIO.GPIO
ImportError: No module named Adafruit_BBIO.GPIO

I think the file it's looking for is BeagleBone related? Not sure why this is happening?

Have removed the Adafruit directory, rebooted, re-installed Adafruit code, rebooted again and still no joy.

Any pointers/links to information gratefully received,

Cheers,

Jason

adafruit_support_mike

Re: RGB LCD Plate not working with Pi2