Phillip Burgess Demon Wings...help needed

Wearable electronics: boards, conductive materials, and projects from Adafruit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
makomikey

Phillip Burgess Demon Wings...help needed

Post by makomikey »

Hey there, Interested in making a pair of these awesome wings and was curious if anyone had tried to make em or if there was a tutorial out there somewhere (other then the wire helmet animals) I'm pretty new to el wire and i'm not really sure how much el wire I should purchase.

cheers!

pburgess

Re: Phillip Burgess Demon Wings...help needed

Post by pburgess »

The animal masks are about as relevant as we've got in the Adafruit Learning System, in terms of wire-supported EL structures. The basic EL Wire tutorial offers some general pointers. You might turn up some other wire-supported designs on Instructables and such.

A few extra tidbits about the wings, in case it's helpful:

The wire armature was made from stuff used for tensioning chain link fences (along the top and bottom). In hindsight, probably overkill (it's a little heavy and incredibly tough to bend), but I needed to get something done in time for Maker Faire and didn't have forever to search for The One True Perfect Armature Wire for the project. On the plus side, it's held up to a lot of bumping and knocking around and traveling. The rough ends of the wire were glopped up with a lot of JB Weld.